Back side of a Mig Butt weld... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2009, 08:33 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Back side of a Mig Butt weld...

Simple question, but I don't know the answer. What should I do about the back side of a mig butt weld? Should I grind it down as well? I tried hammering the joint, but its nice and lumpy from the welds on the backside? That said, at what point have I overworked the metal?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-06-2009, 09:29 PM
Get in, sit down, hang on

Last journal entry: Cab Removal
Last photo:

I'm not an expert welder by any means ... just completed a night course at the local ag college.

Butt welds are tricky alright.
You want enough heat to acheive decent penetration and not just have your weld laying on top looking like rope. Unfortunately, it's quite likely that some of the deposited metal will leak right through if the seams aren't perfect.

If this is 22 ga auto body sheet metal that we're talking about ... I think that I would be more concerned about having a good solid weld on the top and grinding just the part that you can see nice and level.
Old 11-06-2009, 09:40 PM

Last photo:

I was taught to grind down both sides almost all the way smooth,leaving just a small amount of weld, then hammer weld on dolly to remove the shrink and tension caused by the weld. then grind both sides smooth.

Last edited by Sixguns; 11-06-2009 at 09:58 PM.
Old 11-06-2009, 11:30 PM
Robbins Racing

Last photo:

What I do is grind it down with a flap disc. Here's a page describing the process and outcome: Finishing Welds Link Hope it helps, I came across this years ago and never looked back.