Bad Fish Eyes - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior> Paint
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2013, 09:02 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Bad Fish Eyes

Paint and body work newbie here sprayed a ton of fish eyes today. I started spraying on a junk panel and thought they were forming because I hadn't cleaned it. So when it sprayed smooth I went to my work piece. Tons of fish eyes there too so I quit and wasted the rest of the paint.

I don't think the problem is my compressor or lines. I have a 60 gallon single stage with about 50'of piping with drip legs (learned from this sight) and a water filter at the end. Water barely ever makes it to the filter.

I have been spraying SPI epoxy primer for the last two weeks through an old gun with no problems. I just sprayed my door jambs with SPI epoxy 3 days ago.

Today I went to paint the door jambs. I bought a half pint of single stage paint and a cheap Harbor Freight HVLP gun. I disassembled the gun and cleaned it with mineral spirits and let dry for 20-30 minutes. I think this is the problem, as I have always cleaned with laquer thinner before. Since the instructions with the gun said to use mineral spirits, that's what I did this time.

Body panels were cleaned with SPI wax and grease remover 20-30 minutes before painting.

Any ideas what went wrong?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-04-2013, 10:15 PM
bodyman

All you can do is elimante one thing at a time. I would start with the spray gun since this is the first thing you used differant. Clean with gun wash gun and pot.
The Following User Says Thank You to gorilla13 For This Useful Post:
tech69 (06-06-2013)
Old 06-05-2013, 09:51 AM
STUPID is as STUPID does...