Hot Rod Forum banner

Bare metal prep

15K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  starquest 
#1 ·
I have been reading previous threads on priming, filling, and bare metal prep. But the more I read the more confused I get. Some say use a wash primer and some don’t. Some say use an etch primer and some don’t. Do you apply filler directly to bare metal or over epoxy primer? Here is my situation. I have a ’67 Chevelle that has patches of surface rust. I plan to take the whole car to bare metal. Do I need to treat the metal and if so, with what and how? Will an epoxy primer take place of metal treatment? What I need to know is, What is the step by step process for taking the car from bare metal to the application of a high build primer?

This might be a stupid question.
I have read that a lot of people use “DP primer.” Is this an epoxy primer and what does DP stand for?

I have done bodywork before and painted a few trucks but I am new to complete stripping. Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

#2 ·
Here is the way with epoxy
and some one else can give way with Acid etch so you can decide how you want to do it.

Prepping

Metal or Aluminum must be clean of all rust and oils and any films. Never clean metal with lacquer thinner or reducers of any kind. Raw metal of any type is always cleaned best with a waterborne wax and grease remover such as ---- part # ----. This is most important for prepping aluminum. Sand with 80 da paper or coarser ONLY.

Spraying: