Hot Rod Forum banner

Base coat/clear coat urethane over acrylic enamel

26K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  tech69 
#1 ·
My son and I are refinishing his Dodge Charger in a different color. We have sprayed the underside of the trunk lid and the trunk, the rear splash pan, and under the rear bumper with acrylic enamel with some overspray on the exterior. We still need to do the inside of the doors and the engine compartment\hood. I have been telling him to go with acrylic enamel for the rest of the car because that is the original paint of the era, but am reconsidering going with acrylic urethane enamel or base coat\clear coat.

The question is, how will either of those mixtures bond and react to the sanded overspray areas and the areas inside the doors-trunk-fenders where the two overlap?

Thanks for responding.

#2 ·
Being a rookie myself I can say without doubt that going with a BC/CC will be much easier/user friendly (Il earned this the hard way of course). Plus you can wet sand and buff the clear to get rid of any orange peel/runs/dust etc.... AE requires much more skill to lay out good and if you have to wet sand and buff it never seems to come back to it's original gloss. A good clear can buff out so nice you will be amazed that you actually painted it. As far as the compatibility of the BC on top of the AE I don't think it would be an issue if you sanded all the overspray off, coated the old coating (if it's still good) with a good epoxy primer, then prime, block and shoot.

#4 ·