Base Coat problems - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-20-2006, 01:35 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Base Coat problems

Hey all-

This is my first time every doing a BC/CC. I have done only two other jobs and both where single stage...and I am having problems.

I sanded right down to the bare metal (80grit) cleaned the steel, degreased, spayed epoxy primer, sanded down to 180, sprayed siskens colour build primer then sanded down to 600grit using 320, 400,600.Re-coated primer where needed (same sanding) I then went on to spraying the base (siskens base and medium reducer) I was spraying with a Divilbiss GTI gun with a 1.3 tip and presure at 30psi/10psi acording to the digital guage. This is my first time spraying base!!! anyway, at the start all was going well...then I looked and oh #$@# runs/sags were starting!

My question is how much are you actually put down? should I have put in a bit less reducer? I went by the mixing stick as per directions. Or should I have been using a 1.2 tip? Also, there was a few nibs showing....I went over that panel ALOT with tack cloth and there was nothing....anyway, I have heard that clear will cover alot of it if its just lint??? how true is that?

Now my next question is this door (all doors are off truck and lying flat) should I sand entire door or just runs? if so what grit? wet or dry? I did also notice that some scratches were showing in the base coat...I am painting black? will clear help hide these or make it worse?

Sorry for all the questions...just don't want to screw this up!

Thanks...Ryan

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-20-2006, 01:45 PM

Last photo: