Basic question on 69 Camaro - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-25-2003, 10:14 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Basic question on 69 Camaro

Hello,

I'm very new to old cars, but I really like the lines of the old camaros.

I just bought a '69 camaro convertible from an old man that has owned it for a long time. I had the car checked out by a bodyshop guy and he says there is very little rust and only a small place where there was rust and it was fixed by replacing the sheet metal. (I'm in Miami B.T.W)

The interior is in ok shape and the body really needs painting.

I want the car to look good but I'm not skilled enough to fully restore the car nor do I want to put that much money into it.

What I would like is to get a good paint job on the car and mabe replace some interior and exterior parts. Then drive it for a couple of years and then sell it.

My problem is that I don't want to to anything that would depreciate it.

My plan was to first check and make sure the engine and chasis don't match numbers. Since if they did it would depreicate it more to do non stock upgrades on it right?

1. Where are the numbers located on the engine and the chasis?

Assuming it's a non match I have these questions.

1. Would it be bad to paint it a color other than the original color it came?
2. Would it be bad to paint it a color that was not available at all to the camaros in the year?
3. Does puttin an aftermarket radio in the car depreciate it?
4. I've read that product date can affect value.. Where do I find the numbers on the car that show if it's an early or late production?

Any other advice is appreciated.

Thanks

Ray

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement