BBC 454 combo - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-28-2006, 01:51 PM
US Navy-Retired

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

BBC 454 combo

Hello everyone. I am beginning to look at building a 454 to replace my 327. I cam across a 454 w/TH400 for a great price (free). It was a running engine when removed two years ago. I am a decent SBC builder, but this will be my first BBC. I am looking for some ideas for building this engine. Have not really decided to build low torque or mid-upper RPM. I really would like to run a tunnel ram w/duals. Block cast #361959, heads 336781. Upgrading the heads is not possible at this time, not enough $$$. It is an retangle port, 2 bolt main. My neighbor will be giving me a Lunati 292 (don't know more than that at this time as I have not seen it yet). Will be going in a 74 Chevy truck, 3.73 rear end. Looking to upgrade pistons, intake, carb and cam. I have a new B&M 2800 stall left over form another project. Thanks guys for any advice.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-28-2006, 02:49 PM

Last photo:

Well the first thing is if I read your post right you have 781 heads, but they are not rectangular, but oval ports but should flow pretty well into the RPM range.
Old 03-28-2006, 04:21 PM
http://teamrfc.gospelcom.net

Last photo: