Beam axle front suspension. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2012, 11:36 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Beam axle front suspension.

Hello all,
I just signed up to this site as I have been searching the web looking for info on solid axle front ends. I was asked to introduce myself so here I am. My background is in lightweight road race cars with independent front suspension and disc brakes so I am completely ignorant of the latest developments in beam axle /drum brake front suspension and wish to learn as much as I can for a future project I am contemplating.
For some time I have been thinking about building a hot rod along the lines of 1930's English or Italian sports cars. The front beam axle and large drum brake is an intrinsic visual part of this design and I would like to learn more about proper geometry and sources of donor parts.
The American hot rod community has been swimming in these waters for many decades and I have to believe has successfully come up with a formula for as stable and predictable a front end as this format will allow.
If anyone would be so kind as to point me in the direction of further information on this topic I would appreciate it (books, websites, copies of articles).
To get the ball rolling I have 2 questions that I will throw out there.
1). What are the pro's/con's of transverse leaf springs versus longitudinal leaf springs aside from unsprung weight ?
2). Intuitively I would think that the twin I beam front swing axle would give better handling than a solid one. What are peoples opinions?
What I am shooting for is the visual appeal of a 1930's car with as much planted feel of a 1960's sportscar as I can get.
Any comments?
Thank you all in advance?