Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Engine (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/engine/)
-   -   Beginner with new cam,heads,intake install (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/beginner-new-cam-heads-intake-install-68317.html)

fast times 08-17-2005 12:37 AM

Beginner with new cam,heads,intake install

I'm intimitated , worried ,nervous. Have a 55 chevy with LS6 454 BBC, just purchased brodix race rite oval port heads, an isky solid lifter cam, rpm air gap intake, pro systems 950hp carb. Would like to attempt the teardown to short block and installation of these parts myself. I have no prior build experience, but I am a millwright so I can use most tools/ guages/indicators. I have two of the books that grumpy recommended the BBC IV and V, VI how to. Not sure if this learning experience is worth the sum of these parts and my LS6 being destroyed, know what I mean? What do you think guys , need some words of wisdom. Thanks :pain:

bracketeer 08-17-2005 12:54 AM

Like learning anything you need to be taught. Reading it from a book can work. I would personaly find someone who knows what they are doing to show you first time. Cam break in procedure is very important, as well as head torque, and valve setting. Any mistakes in these areas will cause you time and expense.