Beginner Sewing Machine Recommendation - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2010, 06:00 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Beginner Sewing Machine Recommendation

I am looking for a sewing machine to do the interior of a project car. I am a beginner, and will only be doing a few projects for myself - not starting an upholstery shop.
Through some books and searching here, it appears a machine with dual or compound feed is required. The ability to sew in reverse is desired, and the maximum space under the foot is a limiting factor for sewing multiple layers with foam. Some brands suggested are Nakamichi (Juki), Pfaff, and Singer. There are also apparently many clones of the Singer 111W made by many manufacturers - Consew, Tacsew, Sailrite, etc. In some posts the Pfaff is not recommended based on its non-commonality with the Singer clones and therefore higher parts cost. Unfortunately, there are too many brands and models for someone without in depth knowledge to intelligently choose from.

So what would be a specific recommendation (brand and model) of a machine suitable to do an interior by a beginner, and where is a good place to look for one? I would rather not spend $1000+ on a full fledged industrial machine if possible, and have some time to look for a deal on a good machine (I am still fixing rust ) Thanks!

Advertisement
Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-06-2010, 09:32 PM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: Contact adhesive
Last journal entry: 49 Packard
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 22