belt tensioner assembly - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-11-2005, 04:03 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

belt tensioner assembly

I'm kind of new to Ford's but now have an old F-1 with a 302 Mustang HO '85 engine. Trouble with the serpentine belt & alternator and wondering if the heavy belt tensioner assy could be the cause?? Mine moves with some force but wondering if they should move freely??

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-11-2005, 05:43 PM
aka Duke of URL

Last wiki edit: Finding vacuum leaks Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 1

Quote:
Trouble with the serpentine belt & alternator and wondering if the heavy belt tensioner assy could be the cause?
The tensioner is spring loaded to enable it to keep the proper tension on the drive belt. If you look real closely, you will see an arrow and a gauge on the tensioner. As long as the arrow is within the guide marks, you have the correct length belt and belt tension. The tensioner will go bad as well as the idler pulley on it. What type of problems are you having?
Old 08-11-2005, 09:02 PM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by KULTULZ
The tensioner is spring loaded to enable it to keep the proper tension on the drive belt. If you look real closely, you will see an arrow and a gauge on the tensioner. As long as the arrow is within the guide marks, you have the correct length belt and belt tension. The tensioner will go bad as well as the idler pulley on it. What type of problems are you having?