Hot Rod Forum banner

best drill bits

6K views 24 replies 15 participants last post by  302 Z28 
#1 ·
I am a mechanic/fabricator and work with 18-11g mettle and am looking for good drill bits. What do you like matco snap-on craftsman?

#2 · (Edited)
For 18 to 11 ga. metal you just can't beat a a good step drill. These, like most bits, come in different grades and about the best I have used is the Irwin Cobalt but there are some cheaper ones out there.

www.irwin.com/irwin/consumer/jhtml/browse.jhtml?catId=IrwinCat100138

www.irwin.com/irwin/consumer/jhtml/productBuyOnline.jhtml?prodId=IrwinProd240001&skuid=BM10239CB

If you want regular bits then Triumph Twist Drill bit is the best for the dollar IMO

www.ttdonlineusa.com/sandvik/4546/s006082.nsf/html/Startpage?opendocument

These can be bought here,

www.use-enco.com

#7 ·
matt167 said:
I havn't bought or turned any in on warranty in an a while... regardless, as long as they maintain lifetime warranty I'll continue to use and warranty the 1's I have.

They are decent bits I was just growling about them moving to China. I always thought they were a good bit for the price and it plainly said made in USA on the front of the package, until recently that is. Someone here pointed out they had moved manufacturing to China and I had noticed that the packaging was different, sure enough they have jumped ship and gone to China! :mad:

#8 ·
yea I know.. I probably won't buy any more, but as long as that warranty still stands I'll keep getting new 1's for free :D ... oh, and I still have a few in the package.. plainly marked Made in USA, so whenever I bought them ( could be a couple of years ) they were still US made

#9 ·
matt167 said:
yea I know.. I probably won't buy any more, but as long as that warranty still stands I'll keep getting new 1's for free :D ... oh, and I still have a few in the package.. plainly marked Made in USA, so whenever I bought them ( could be a couple of years ) they were still US made