Hot Rod Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Best engine for a 93 caprice classic?

27K views 19 replies 10 participants last post by  topmeat69 
#1 ·
I got a project I am going to start working on, I am new to a lot of this but I figure no time like the present. Basically I have a 93 caprice classic V8 5.0L and she needs some work want to swap out the current engine and boost my horse power. Is there a better engine I could be using than the stock one? I have about a 5k budget for now and was hoping to also do intake and exhaust work as well. Any advise, tips or sugestions are more than welcome.

#2 ·
Big heavy car so you'll need lots of torque, a 383 or a 406 sbc with a 700R4 trans. You can do a search on this forum for a bunch of engine builds reg these engine combo's. Just remember...this won't be a race car so don't go too radical, nice mild build will make it plenty streetable.

#3 ·
383 or 406 is definitely a good way to go(383 is probably easier, 400 blocks arent that easy to find), either will be bolt in motors(same motor mounts and accesories as your 305)
Just focus you build on torque, not horsepower. Your biggest issue is whether you will keep the EFI or not. You'd probably need a Bigblock throttle body, and a new prom for your computer if you stay with the efi. If you go carb, you'll need a non computer controlled distributor as well, you'll have to alter you fuel system to work with the carb, plus a way to control the lock-up feature of the torque converter in the trans., and possibly shift points in the trans if its an electric model(4L60E) If you go too big on the camshaft, you'll need a new torque converter all together. You should check the options sticker(inside of trunk, or glove box) to find out what gear ratio you have in your axle. Changing this to a low to mid 3 series gear will improve your acceleration.

#4 ·
thxs for the feedback