Hot Rod Forum banner

best primer and sealers to use

80K views 42 replies 24 participants last post by  richowens 
#1 ·
I know this has probably been beat to death, but i am new at this and want to get right the first time.
My 1948 olds is being stripped to bare metal, all body work done, welding nd fillers , now come time to prime
What is the best way to go and the products to use in what order.
can i use an etching primer over body fillers and old paint and primers
The car will not be painted final color for probably a year or so.
thank-you so much for all the help guys
My daughter and i really appreciate all the help and great advice

#32 ·
Speaking of the old lacquer (hand rubbed) paint jobs, which is what I started spraying way back. I have to disagree with the concept of their look can't be beat. First off the gloss of the urethanes can't compare to that of the lacquers, it is just much more shinier right off the bat. You have to rub and buff to get that gloss out of the lacquers, so if you can get that thane peel out totally and level it FLAT once you buff it has a gloss and depth to it NATURALLY that lacquer just never had. If you have ever seen this up close and personal, not talking about pics on the net either, you will know exactly what I mean. Anyone else agree, or disagree?

#33 ·
I think it's a lot like real and fake boobs, real is just better no matter if they aren't "perfect".