Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Body - Exterior (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/body-exterior/)
-   -   best primer and sealers to use (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/best-primer-sealers-use-37632.html)

49olds 04-12-2004 09:39 PM

best primer and sealers to use

I know this has probably been beat to death, but i am new at this and want to get right the first time.
My 1948 olds is being stripped to bare metal, all body work done, welding nd fillers , now come time to prime
What is the best way to go and the products to use in what order.
can i use an etching primer over body fillers and old paint and primers
The car will not be painted final color for probably a year or so.
thank-you so much for all the help guys
My daughter and i really appreciate all the help and great advice

deuce_454 04-12-2004 10:39 PM

epoxy primer, like PPG dp90lf,

BarryK 04-13-2004 04:26 AM

Best

Deuce hit it on the money use only an epoxy primer over the bare
metal.
Unless your using lacquer or enamel as your color coat
you should not use an acid etch primer.

When you get it stripped to bare metal email me off line and I will
send you "The Perfect Paint job" It gives step by step from bare metal up. It was written for Restorations and Street rod builders only not everyday paint It does apply to any paint brand.

6speedwagon 04-13-2004 09:28 AM

Id like a copy also.Could you e-mail me also?Thanks Don

Slipangle 04-13-2004 10:02 AM

Re: Best

Quote:

Originally posted by BarryK
Deuce hit it on the money use only an epoxy primer over the bare
metal.
Unless your using lacquer or enamel as your color coat
you should not use an acid etch primer.

When you get it stripped to bare metal email me off line and I will
send you "The Perfect Paint job" It gives step by step from bare metal up. It was written for Restorations and Street rod builders only not everyday paint It does apply to any paint brand.