Hot Rod Forum banner

best suspension set up for autocross

22K views 20 replies 10 participants last post by  tony@roadstershop 
#1 ·
what is the best suspension setup for a '77 chevy short bed stepside with a 2" drop and should i get a bagged set up? I'm a student at wyotech in sacramento, ca in chassis fabrication and intend on autocrossing my truck, in the years to come, at the goodguys in plesenton, ca.

any tip and trick to setup a stock system would help greatly, due to the whole starving student.

#2 ·
Lots of camber. Play around with different front and rear sway bars to get it as neutral as possible - too big up front and it understeers (plows), too big in the rear and it oversteeers (tail happy). Biggest brakes you can afford, then save your money for some "R" compound tires. Most courses you will not get above 2nd gear, but you will be close to redline - if you don't have a rev limiter, be careful in the 'heat of competition'. Your 2" drop will help lower your center of gravity.
It's not a suspension trick, but a harness type belt will help you stay put in your seat - hard to cut tight corners when you are sliding all over the seat.
Check with your local SCCA to see if they might be holding an Evolution Driving school. Three one-day classes that don't cost a fortune and will greatly improve your driving. You and the instructor will be using your truck so you will know exactly what it and you are capable of (also a good person to ask about how your truck handles). Sounds like fun.

#3 ·
should i stagger my rim/tires? i am currently looking into LMC truck for my sway bars. any suggestions on the size to start with. i will be getting a 350 sbc and th400 for $400 and will be tearing it down to see if everything is good. might bore it and turn it into a stroker, but that will be later down the line i currently have a 307 cu.in. and th350. with a hard reverse gear.