Hot Rod Forum banner

Big block for my Camaro

4K views 14 replies 5 participants last post by  Mrboykin0 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Im Trying to Find a big block for my 1980 z28 camaro

Street Only
500hp (minimum)

my budget is $3500 But that already makes me cringe, id like to save as much as possible

*I dont want an SBC, so dont suggest any to me :D *

At first I was going to buy one from one from ***** on ebay who "had" the 496cid 515hp for $3200 But then I started finding some bad reviews, I spoke to the guy on the phone and he already seems like the biggest ***...

SO I have no experience in "building" an high performance engine.

I was looking at this block as a decent starting point?
GM 454/7.4 ENGINE REBUILDABLE SHORT BLOCK 4 BOLT 1991 & UP #14861/14974/15133 | eBay

Overall I dont know where to start, I could really use a nudge, no a strong shove in the right direction. Im 21 and have a lot to learn

So my question is -
can i Build a bbc with my budget and get what i want out of it?
or do I purchase a crate for a little more cash?
- ( not made of money!)
and what places/websites would you veterans recommend?

*I dont want an SBC, so please dont suggest any to me :sweat:*

See less See more
#3 ·
big block 454

Here is a crate engine ready to drop in your Camaro. It will give you an idea of prices of big blocks. BBC CHEVY 454 468 CUBIC INCH 500+HP CHEVY CRATE ENGINE 585FTLBS TURN KEY 7.4L | eBay If you were to build one: block prep $500-$600, rotating assembly $1200-$1950. Higher end kits are forged components. Hyd Roller camshaft kit $900-$1000. A set of AFR aluminum heads $1900. Gasket kit ??? Intake $290, Holley Carb $542. Plus all bracket, pulleys belts, etc. I think you would exceed the price of a crate engine.

#4 ·
7,000 for an engine?!

If I could afford that much I probably wouldnt be here!!

Is it really this difficult to build a 500hp BBC around $3500?

I dont know anything about Porting heads either...
and do i have to buy heads new?