Biggest 120V air compressor - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-02-2006, 08:58 PM
ComingApart's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: South Arkansas
Age: 35
Posts: 65
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Biggest 120V air compressor

I need to find the highest CFM compressor I can that will operate at 120VAC. 15amp
Something that I can do some light sandblasting with.
I Know thats kind of a tall order, so I'm turning to you guys here.
Thanks

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2006, 03:06 PM
shopratwoody's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Orange, CA
Age: 73
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
air compressor

If you can find an older one out of a shop, the type that the motor runs
at 1750 rpm that would be the best. They have single phase 120 5 HP
that are about 14-18 CFM. I have an older Champion that 14-15. Mine is
3 ph but my friend has one that's single ph 120. The 1750 motors are a much
quieter compressor that these new junkers. Good Luck

Ron
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2006, 05:34 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
110 volt compressors are limited by the AMP draw and you will not find one anywhere near 5 HP. Because of the power limit the biggest one you can find will have a low CFM rating that would be suitable only for spot blasting and small jobs. If you do try to get by with a 110 volt outfit then you should use a small pressure type blaster unit with a small tip (3/32") instead of a suction type. It's just laws of physics, it takes a lot of power to produce a lot of CFM at a usable pressure and a 110 volt circuit will not supply that much power.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2006, 07:12 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,388
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldred
110 volt compressors are limited by the AMP draw and you will not find one anywhere near 5 HP. Because of the power limit the biggest one you can find will have a low CFM rating that would be suitable only for spot blasting and small jobs. If you do try to get by with a 110 volt outfit then you should use a small pressure type blaster unit with a small tip (3/32") instead of a suction type. It's just laws of physics, it takes a lot of power to produce a lot of CFM at a usable pressure and a 110 volt circuit will not supply that much power.
as long as you have 2 on 2 seperate plugs running 2 seperate breakers, couldn't 2 heavy duty cables ( 2/12 Romex ) be plugged into 2 outlets and then wired as a 220v circut? then run a 220v compressor? I only do 110v wiring but have always wondered this.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2006, 09:48 PM
shopratwoody's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Orange, CA
Age: 73
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
110 compressor

sorry bout the misinformation on the compressor, I was thinking of single phase versas 3 ph. You can have a single phase 220 5hp motor, not 110.
What was I think'n

Ron
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2006, 05:58 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: tennessee
Posts: 5,912
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Matt, Got me a little confused there with exactly what you mean but if you are talking about using two 110 volt units hooked together (air lines) then yes that would work as long as they are on two SEPARATE circuits and SEPARATE BREAKERS. Even with two 110 volt outfits you would be pushing it to do much sandblasting but it would work if someone is limited to only 110 volts.

Comingapart, When I said you will not find one anywhere near 5HP I meant real HP and not that phony "peak" or "maximum developed" HP nonsense. If you look around you can probably still find one of those ridiculous things with that garbage printed on it but DON'T fall for that! Those outfits lost a class action law suit and was ordered by the courts to stop inflating the power ratings but some of them can still be found and even the newer ones are suspect IMO.

Last edited by oldred; 10-06-2006 at 06:08 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2006, 07:52 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mt. Washington,Ky.
Posts: 351
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt167
as long as you have 2 on 2 seperate plugs running 2 seperate breakers, couldn't 2 heavy duty cables ( 2/12 Romex ) be plugged into 2 outlets and then wired as a 220v circut? then run a 220v compressor? I only do 110v wiring but have always wondered this.
If you're saying what I think you're saying it would work as long as the 2 outlets were on different poles in the box. It would not be advisable though. If one breaker tripped and the other did not you could do damage to your motor. It would be much easier to put a 220v breaker in the box and run it the correct way.

Danny
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:35 PM
Bryan59EC's Avatar
Car? Truck? Who Cares
 

Last journal entry: First week of December
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 54
Posts: 2,367
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
Gonna need 10ga wire for a 30 amp 220 circuit
and 8ga for a 50 amp

Also need to check if the equipment or your elec codes require a neutral wire.
some do and some don't

need to also use a 2-pole circuit breaker or fused disconnect box for this

2 hots and a ground (+neutral if required)

Also the plugs/outlets are different for 30 amp 3 wire/50amp 3 wire
30 amp 4 wire/50 amp 4 wire

Be safe with this---fires are no fun

Bryan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2006, 03:40 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,388
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kampr
If you're saying what I think you're saying it would work as long as the 2 outlets were on different poles in the box. It would not be advisable though. If one breaker tripped and the other did not you could do damage to your motor. It would be much easier to put a 220v breaker in the box and run it the correct way.

Danny
yep that's what I was thinking, I was just wondering if it would work. Right now, I do what Old red said. 2 120v compressors plumbed into an air system. works decent enough for me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Martin Senour Tech Sheets? unstable Body - Exterior 42 03-12-2011 09:09 PM
larger compressor gburgess2002 Garage - Tools 13 07-19-2009 09:36 AM
shooting clear vinvango73 Body - Exterior 3 10-28-2005 11:24 PM
Adding 2nd air tank to compressor cboy Garage - Tools 7 10-26-2004 10:17 PM
Anyone Looking For An Air Compressor ?????? STATUTORY GRAPE Body - Exterior 2 07-14-2003 06:24 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.