A bit of guidance rewireing my car - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2009, 07:48 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A bit of guidance rewireing my car

Hello all,

I would first like to thank all of those who helped me pick my new harness. I'ts an American Auto Wire harness style Highway 15. I must say it's one heck of a kit! Comes with tons of extra wire and the option of using the column ignition or use there dash ignition .

Anyways. . . I'm not really sure where to start. I gutted the car this morning. I kept all the connections and I know where everything goes thats not my problem.

My problem is I'm not sure where to start . I know where im mounting the fuse panel. I am also going to use the dash switch. I'm lost on what to start with first. Should I connect everything to the panel and go from there? Do I finish one section at a time if so what part do I start with first?

Thank you for your time,
Ryan


EDIT: I for got to add that all my outside lights aside form the headlights will be LEDs. I know the blinkers require a no load flasher but do i need a second one for the hazards?

    Advertisement

Last edited by elcaminodragster; 01-17-2009 at 08:30 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2009, 09:24 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Well you know where you are going to locate the fuse panel so that's a start. You also know where your turn signal switch, headlamp switch, ignition switch and wiper switch is located. Route the applicable wires to those switches allowing some slack, but not too much. Pick out the wires that will run to the front of the vehicle and route them. Do the same for the wires that will run to the rear. Before you know it you will be powering it up. Ask back if you have any more questions.

Yes, you will need a no load flasher for your hazards if they are also all LED's.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2009, 07:06 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I was routing the wires today and i noticed there are no wires for reverse lights

Also it shows the neutral safety switch as an option

How do i wire my reverse lights? Could I use a switch to flick them on when needed and fully bypass the safety switch? Or does the safety switch do more then just turn on the reverse lights?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2009, 09:03 PM
Bryan59EC's Avatar
Car? Truck? Who Cares
 

Last journal entry: First week of December
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 54
Posts: 2,370
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
If this is an AT car.
run a grey wire from any terminal that is hot only with the key in "run"
This would be the ignition buss----wipers, ignition, turn signal feed

Not to the ACCY buss----this is where the stereo, power windows etc poer will be.

Back to topic
Grey wire from the fusebox to the back-up switch (neutral safety/back-up) on the steering column (column shift???)
Green wire to the back-up lamps
Black wire from the lamps to a good metal ground.

If your rear harness is in good shape, might consider using it instead of running new wires------pain in the butt to run wires thru the quarterpanel of these cars.

Up to about 65----Back-up lamps were an option on many cars, so therefore they had their own separate harness. same with courtesy lamps, glove box lights, cigar lighters.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2009, 10:30 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan59EC
If this is an AT car.
run a grey wire from any terminal that is hot only with the key in "run"
This would be the ignition buss----wipers, ignition, turn signal feed

Not to the ACCY buss----this is where the stereo, power windows etc poer will be.

Back to topic
Grey wire from the fusebox to the back-up switch (neutral safety/back-up) on the steering column (column shift???)
Green wire to the back-up lamps
Black wire from the lamps to a good metal ground.

If your rear harness is in good shape, might consider using it instead of running new wires------pain in the butt to run wires thru the quarterpanel of these cars.

Up to about 65----Back-up lamps were an option on many cars, so therefore they had their own separate harness. same with courtesy lamps, glove box lights, cigar lighters.

AT car???

Ok cool thank you. I've got most of the car wired up now. It is way easier then I thought it would be. The hardest part is figuring out where to route the wires but I got that done now. I just have to hook everything up now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2009, 12:06 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Windsor
Age: 35
Posts: 126
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
AT car is automatic transmission, thats all. Hope everything works out for ya, I get to do all the wiring in probably late spring/early summer on my truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-21-2009, 04:01 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That's what i thought but I wasn't sure. . . Thank you. If you haven't bought a wire harness I HIGHLY recommend American Auto Wire. I bought the Highway 15 kit and it has just about everything. Connections, fittings, both dash and column igition, tons of extra wire and more! The schematics are very easy to follow everything is color coordinated it's almost stupid easy lol.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2009, 08:23 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm about ready to wire up the alt and I'm not sure if I need to use the in-line diode. This is the alt I have http://store.summitracing.com/partde...5&autoview=sku

I've never heard of a diode. What does it do? And why might I need it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2009, 08:33 PM
Bryan59EC's Avatar
Car? Truck? Who Cares
 

Last journal entry: First week of December
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 54
Posts: 2,370
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
Depending on where the white wire is going----and the type of wire in the harness kit you got----whether you have a "GEN" light or not---al depend on the diode.

If your wiring kit came with a resistance wire----no diode is needed
will need to use about 5ft of this wire to be effective.

If you have the idiot light--you will need no diode.

no resistor wire and no lamp-----will need the diode

The white wire on the alt. in a roundabout way is connected directly to the ignition buss in the fuse box.

When the car is turned off-----the spinning alternator will still be able to supply power to the coil and the car will stay running.

The resitor wire or the lamp will not allow enough current thru to let the car stay running.

No lamp/no resitor wire-----the diode must be placed inline with the white wire.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2009, 08:36 PM
Bryan59EC's Avatar
Car? Truck? Who Cares
 

Last journal entry: First week of December
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 54
Posts: 2,370
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
oh---
What does it do????

The diode will only let the electricity run in one direction (dc current)
If the power tries to run the other way----and it can with fans and generators---the diode becomes a brick wall that nothing will get thru.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2009, 09:26 PM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I do not have the idiot light. Does it matter where the diode is in the wire? Does it need to be close to the alt or no?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2009, 09:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: wa
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
nods

american auto wire is the way to go , the only thing i would have liked to seen it have is more ground lugs - i belive in grounding everything back to fuze panel so added my own grounding block beside panel - that kit has WAY more wire included than ya ever need lol - wish they would have left some of it unmarked though so when useing the extra for outher projects peeps dont ask why is this wire marked ign going to my horn
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2009, 05:47 AM
Bryan59EC's Avatar
Car? Truck? Who Cares
 

Last journal entry: First week of December
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 54
Posts: 2,370
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 28 Times in 22 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by elcaminodragster
I do not have the idiot light. Does it matter where the diode is in the wire? Does it need to be close to the alt or no?
Just somewhere between the alternator and the fusebox.
Somebody actually makes a jumper for this that will plug into the alt.
Might be the way to go, as I am not sure of what size or capacity of diode is needed.

I have the resistor wire in the 59
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2009, 11:52 AM
elcaminodragster's Avatar
70 El Camino aka FRANKENSTEIN
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Age: 26
Posts: 738
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan59EC
I am not sure of what size or capacity of diode is needed.

Is there a way I can find out what size/capacity I need??? My alt is 140amp and the numbers on the diode that came with the kit are. . .
752
6 A 4

Not sure if that helps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-24-2009, 06:14 AM
Chrome Eddie's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Off to the painter
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ft. Worth,TX
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I received my wiring harness from American auto wire too. My GT will be back from the painters this next week and I will be ready to get started wiring it. The kit looks great, the harness came with everything including all the correct connectors. I will keep you guys informed as to how it all goes together. Good luck with your wiring!

Eddie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Your take on a car trade dispute. chlsnk Hotrodders' Lounge 14 12-17-2008 06:25 PM
Today for the first time I judged a car show. MARTINSR Hotrodders' Lounge 7 06-07-2008 05:45 AM
What's a good timing curve for a 4100lb car? Malibu73 Engine 3 03-04-2006 12:51 AM
Buyer Beware................... poncho62 Hotrodders' Lounge 10 05-19-2005 09:40 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.