Blew a in line fuse installed per GM CD on 75 TA tachometer - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-2012, 05:52 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Brentwood, TN
Posts: 42
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 37
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Blew a in line fuse installed per GM CD on 75 TA tachometer

Just bought a new tach for 75 TA and looking at 75 Pontiac CD manual, it says to have a 1 amp line fuse installed. I didn't see any in fuse holder there before we installed it.
It blows the 1 amp fuse so now I'm wondering what amp fuse should the new tach have 5, 10 20 amp or none? I don't want to melt down a new tach.

What has been your experiences on something like this.


Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2012, 04:39 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Franklin
Posts: 85
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
in the factory wiring there should be a fuseable link allready in the line which is located as the pigtail that plugs into the distributor this should give the circut plenty of protection
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to Ripper 410 For This Useful Post:
walt03 (08-05-2012)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2012, 07:27 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 74
Posts: 1,545
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 99 Times in 94 Posts
What's a CD manual? Detail would be nice.
The load of the tach should be stated in the instructions. If not use 5 amps.
Then size the wire per the load. #18 minimum.
Then size the fuse for the circuit. 5-10 amps.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to vicrod For This Useful Post:
walt03 (08-05-2012)

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Please select your insurance company (Optional)


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bbc 402 Installed In A 1980 Z28 Camaro What Should Be Installed For Coil Spring Glen Rogowski Suspension - Brakes - Steering 3 06-21-2009 09:57 PM
700r4 built pressure blew line, fixed now no d/od AmcXcar69 Transmission - Rearend 3 04-19-2009 04:58 AM
plz help s15 blew up. 98 blazer tranny blew cani swap engines disice1011 Engine 2 12-02-2008 09:33 PM
I really blew it Berliner Bel Air Electrical 5 11-17-2004 08:50 AM
Blew a brake line today oldschoolrods Suspension - Brakes - Steering 2 06-16-2004 08:30 PM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:31 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.