Hot Rod Forum banner

blower guys running no power valves only sees track

2K views 14 replies 4 participants last post by  vinniekq2 
#1 ·
My problem is back firing thru carbs when i rev past 3500rpms. I have timing set at 34 total and i have pulleys to run only 5lbs of boost. Gauge says im only at 1 lb of boost when it back fires. I have power valve plugs on all sides of carbs. I have 92 jets all the way around and 31 and 25 squirters. I have a boost timing master set to take out 2 degrees of timing per pound. This is what i have.
427bbc 8.7 compression
345cc dart iron eagles.
850 dp holleys.
I have a feeling its to much jet or timing not like 34. i ran the car with power valves in front only and had no issues,but when i put plugs in front it started acting up. Also sometimes i get a big puff of smoke out the headers if it dont back fire thru carbs. Thankz for any comments

#3 ·
Thxs guys lets see if this makes any sence to you. I ran the car without the blower and ran 12.1 sec@117. so i know everything is mechanically okay. When i started to set up the blower i had 6.5pvalves in front only with the same 92 jets all the way around. I knew i was going to have issues with plugs in it onLy. so i wanted to set up the motor and blower in good running order. So around the house it ran fine until i put those front primary plugs in. If i cant fix the issue then i will take it to the local blower shop and have them refrence the carbs for 150.00. I dont trust my self to start drilling holes into my carbs no matter how easy it looks. I have seen two ways to do it. Blower is weiand 8-71,cold plugs,
I notice that it got a lil better when the air bleeds are open all the way. Im sure its not all the answers you want. I cant go below 34 in timing without car having a really hard time starting the cam is a nitrous cam with 714/715 lift.

#4 ·