blower guys running no power valves only sees track - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2012, 05:32 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

blower guys running no power valves only sees track

My problem is back firing thru carbs when i rev past 3500rpms. I have timing set at 34 total and i have pulleys to run only 5lbs of boost. Gauge says im only at 1 lb of boost when it back fires. I have power valve plugs on all sides of carbs. I have 92 jets all the way around and 31 and 25 squirters. I have a boost timing master set to take out 2 degrees of timing per pound. This is what i have.
427bbc 8.7 compression
345cc dart iron eagles.
850 dp holleys.
I have a feeling its to much jet or timing not like 34. i ran the car with power valves in front only and had no issues,but when i put plugs in front it started acting up. Also sometimes i get a big puff of smoke out the headers if it dont back fire thru carbs. Thankz for any comments

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-29-2012, 09:16 PM
Yada Yada Yada

Last photo:

I would look at fuel system flow. Blockage? Spark plug gap. Distributor cap rotor phasing (the boost retard effects the phasing too) if it gets out of aceptable range, backfire crossfire. distributor cap/rotor carbon tracking (caused by this)

For some reason sometimes the mag pick up leads need to be reversed ( polarity) when a boost retard box is connected. (timing gets fubared up if mag pick up polarity is wrong.)
What was the previous jetting and powervalve channel restriction orifice size (behind the power valve in the metering block) what was the power valve vac rating?
When you ran sucessfully with the power valves.?