Hot Rod Forum banner

body filler

4K views 18 replies 10 participants last post by  MARTINSR 
#1 ·
First....I am fairly new to body work and am getting confused at times with the process of sanding body filler...particularly at what point to stop sanding the filler area. Ive read MartinSRs Basics tutorial on fillers but here is what Ive run into....Ive welded in some replacement panels and have applied some Fiberglass (Dynatron Ultra glass) directly over the welded seams. I then sand that with 40 to 80 grit and get it "feathered" out pretty good. I then try to put a thin coat of Evercoats "lightweight" filler over the top of the fiberglass/welded area and try to feather that out with 80 grit. My problem is that I seem to sand the area too much leaving me with thinking that I need to add another layer of filler. I check the area by hand to gauge smoothness. I guess I dont know how to tell when that last "skim coat" of filler is needed. Maybe part of the problem is that Ive never experienced how much fill a 2K primer will provide over filler. So, any ideas I can think about that will help me?

Also, how do you determine when to use a filler like Evercoats Rage type or Lightweight type versus a smooth spreading filler like Evercoats Metal Glaze or Easy Sand product? Thanks.

#2 ·
If you're doing the majority of the filing with the ultra glass and the shape is established with only some minor filling needed then you could actually just go to a glaze from there. Think of glaze as a filler designed to fill minor imperfections like low spots around 1/16" or less, sandscratches etc. Rage extreme is also a good product that would work really well over that glass, it spreads and sands really well almost eliminating the need for any glaze.