Bonding wood to fiberglasas - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2002, 08:35 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Unhappy Bonding wood to fiberglasas

What do you guys suggest. I need to bind some wood strips to a fiberglass body, to mount the door panels on the interior. I have NO experience with fiberglass. What type of adhesive so you suggest? I need to add a series of 1"x2" wood (2" against the fiberglass). I have a paint job on the outside so I can't use anything that may produce enough heat to "burn" the paint.

Thoughts?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-16-2002, 09:02 AM

Last journal entry: Red, my second T--Bucket
Last photo:

I used regular "Bondo" to fasten the wood strips in the inside of my T-Bucket. It's only been on the road for a couple of months, and they ain't fallen off yet, but it would be nice to hear from someone who has more miles on theirs.
Old 07-16-2002, 09:31 AM
Returning American Maddman

Last photo:

My partner has a 32 Ford floppy body. We used an industrial adhesive, not glass to bond the wood to the doors and for support in other areas of the body. Its been on the road for 11 years with no problem. I would stay away from glass. There is a two part compond they use to install body panels. If I was at the shop, I could read you the name. I'd even check hardware stores for liquid nail type stuff. Just read the tube for application. That would be really cheap, too!
Old 07-16-2002, 09:48 AM

Thanks for the input. Sounds Like I might give the liquid nail a try. That sounds like a safe approach for the novice.

Thanks

Did you do the interior of your 23T? Are their any pitfalls I should watch out for?