"Bored" with my 302 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2002, 09:39 PM
torinostylz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: IOWA
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question "Bored" with my 302

I found a guy in desmoines that has great price on engine machine work. He can bore my 302 60 over (resulting in 399 cubic inch displacement) for under $100. He told me that i wouldn't need larger pistons, just bigger rings. Is this safe? Will it work? Will the pistons twist? I ran the engine on my desktop dyno and found it producing 450 horses at the fly when combine with a big 4bbl camshaft, intake, and mild porting...so i'm definitely interested, what do you think? <img src="graemlins/drunk.gif" border="0" alt="[drunk]" />
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2002, 09:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 437
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Thumbs down

Don't walk away, run away from this guy! Who ever told you this or gave you this advice is NUTS. A .060 thousands over bore on a 302 Ford will only increase C.I.D by about 3 C.I.D. You Must replace pistons with the overbore or you will have a major oil consumption problem just before the ring lands break and you have a major engine failure. Use a reputable machine shop!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2002, 10:49 PM
Halloweenking's Avatar
Fantastically cannibalistic!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Spooksville
Posts: 1,353
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

399ci from a bore job, you'd have to start with 396, listen to Studabaker, run as fast as your legs will carry you. 302-399ci that one deserves an award

Like the Avatar too

HK
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2002, 10:52 PM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,643
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 56 Times in 53 Posts
Post

4.060 X 4.060 X 0.7854 X 3.000 X 8 = 310.7 cubic inches. You would have to have a 4.600 inch bore to get 96 more cubes out of a 302 which would make the bore bigger than a 460. if this guy told you this then he doesn`t know how to add cubic inches very good. sounds to me like he`s just trying to get you to spend more money on him. Cubic Inch Formula: bore X bore X 0.7854 X stroke X number of cylinders =
I`ve heard some good ones before, but this one takes the cake. maybe ask him how is a 4 inch piston gonna make up for 60 thousanths extra clearance? can you say Carnage? may also wanna tell him to stay off whatever he`s smoking.

[ December 14, 2002: Message edited by: DoubleVision ]</p>
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2002, 11:49 PM
banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: alberta
Age: 28
Posts: 1,083
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

wait guys I want you to figure this out.. what if he did the 6 thousands overbore and then stroked it.. how much stroking is required... hehe this should be good
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2002, 12:31 AM
aka Duke of URL
 
Last wiki edit: Finding vacuum leaks Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 4,821
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Talking

[quote]You Must replace pistons with the overbore or you will have a major oil consumption problem<hr></blockquote>

Not really...A couple cans of compression will solve the problem...And the piston skirt would never overheat as it would have plenty of fresh coolant to keep it cool...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2002, 07:12 AM
4 Jaw Chuck's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 4,810
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 58 Times in 46 Posts
Post

Be afraid, very afraid.
__________________
Outlawed tunes from outlawed pipes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2002, 07:18 AM
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: mississippi
Posts: 20
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Maybe you just misunderstood the guy. I here alot of ford guys talk about 309's and they are usually referring to a 60 over 302. Just a thought.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2002, 01:06 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 7,951
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 218 Times in 207 Posts
Post

if you did understand the guy correctly, run don't walk away and never return, go to a competent machinest and have it done correctly, be aware that 302 ford motors are getting thin at .060" probably make more horsepower at .030 or .040", pistons must always be matched to the bore size.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2002, 01:30 PM
crshrmn3's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: OH
Age: 41
Posts: 129
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

The machine shop I work with, requires that pistons be available when boring is to be done. They will not bore an engine block, at least not guarantee the work, without the pistons. Each piston is numbered 1-8 and each cylinder is bored to that piston. That way all tolerances are exact. They then went ahead and mounted each piston on the appropriate rod. Seemed to be a real professional working shop and price was reasonable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2002, 02:29 PM
aka Duke of URL
 
Last wiki edit: Finding vacuum leaks Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 4,821
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Arrow

It would have to be an early 302 block or maybe Mexican to take it out that far. I have never heard of it. Too much material to remove for a thin casting. Even if sonic tested and done, it would still be very iffy.

Waste of time and money. 347 is the final solution.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.