Bracket Racing FWD Regal - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2009, 05:53 PM
Footbraker

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Bracket Racing FWD Regal

I been bracket racing my 01 Regal GS recently and wondering if anybody had some pointers. I have been bracket racing street cars off and on since 1992, so I'm not a complete newb to the track but this is my first fwd. I would prefer another S10/V8 combo but for now it's gonna be the regal. Modifications to the car are simply a gutted airbox and u bend/resonator delete.

May 16 09
I was running on street tires this day and the 60' times really show it.
DA's ran from 500' to -200' later on.
Was running on 95 octane E30.
Drive around the water box, clean the tires, deep stage and leave on last yellow. I was loading the car to 1100 rpm +/- and fighting with my R/T's though I did cut a perfect light the first round of test. It seemed to help if I didn't preload it much, less likely to red light.
It was so windy that they decided to run the eliminations 1/8 mile so the fast cars wouldn't have any problems at the big end.
I got down to six cars and they tell me if I win that round I will have the bye run next round. Sounded good to me so I mess it up by finding some traction and breaking out. It may be time to try some stickier tires.

time slips below, car #F604

May 23rd
I picked up some G60-15 american racers (aka McCreary) and wheels from a LeSabre to use at the track. DA was over 3000' and the wind was gusting from various directions.
I was mainly focused on R/T's but my car wasn't very consistent that night - I'm thinking I heat soaked the motor on a couple runs.