brake light relays? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2008, 06:51 PM
Cape Cod Bob's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: How to title a hot rod Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 1,133
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 0
Thanked 29 Times in 19 Posts
brake light relays?

I am planning the wiring for my sedan. I am using 1157 bulbs in the rear lights. They will be running thru a mid 70's GM steering column and a good brake light switch.
? Should I use relays to turn on the brake lights and keep the hi amps out of the steering column?
Also . should I also use relays to turn on the original headlights, 1930's new 12v lamps?
The fuse box I will be using was pirated from a towncar and has what aoppears to be a thermal interrupter. What was this protecting ? And can or should I put this to use?
Thanx for any ideas

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2008, 08:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Flint, MI (GM)
Posts: 29
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wiring of a car

Goto Painless Performance, by the time you gather and buy all the parts and pieces and wire it all to gether (labor) you could have just got a ready made harness, universal that will work better and is designed to function correctly and has a warranty on top of that.

All great ideas, this isn't intended to tell you that it isn't going to work, its just easier.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2008, 09:06 PM
66GMC's Avatar
Get in, sit down, hang on
 

Last journal entry: Cab Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Olds, Alberta Canada
Age: 57
Posts: 2,761
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 32
Thanked 90 Times in 85 Posts
Each 1157 bulb draws 2.1 amps according to Sylvania so even four of them flashing at the same time hardly constitutes a "hi draw" or would even come close to the capacity of 16 guage wire.

Have a look at your fusebox.
I am betting that the signal flasher fuse is at least 15 amps.
I certainly cannot see any need for a relay.
-----------------------------------------
1930's 12-volt headlights? Are you sure?
I thought most automotive systems were only 6V until the mid-50's.
If they are 6V headlights and you run them on a 12V system, I would expect them to get quite bright for a very short time ... sort of like a flashbulb
----------------------------------------
Are there any ID #'s on this "thermal interruptor"?

Anything with a ford basic number of 14526 will be a circuit breaker, and the fusebox will likely be marked, no?

Last edited by 66GMC; 05-25-2008 at 09:22 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-26-2008, 09:28 PM
Cape Cod Bob's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: How to title a hot rod Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 1,133
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 0
Thanked 29 Times in 19 Posts
Thanx 66gmc for the reply. I appreciate the input.
So ,no need for relays makes the job easier.
The flashers have no amp ratings on them.
One is a wagner 323 ,3 lamp C90B-13350-A I assume is for turn sidnal.
The other flasher is a wagner 552, D2AB=13350 for hazard ?
The ckt. bkr.
is the # u posted.
The fuse box reference chart was missing and I could not find one in the boneyard to match. I will try again this sat.
As for the 1930's head lamps, they are 12v replacements for 6v cars upgrading to 12v.
I want to keep the old look and don't plan on night hiway drives
I just need some guidence as to what ckts. need what fuse to protect them
Thanx for any help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-26-2008, 09:57 PM
66GMC's Avatar
Get in, sit down, hang on
 

Last journal entry: Cab Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Olds, Alberta Canada
Age: 57
Posts: 2,761
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 32
Thanked 90 Times in 85 Posts
Yes, you are correct in your assumptions about those flashers. You could actually use two 552's in place of the 323 ... but not vice-versa, because of the maximum number of bulbs to flash.

As far as installing an appropriately-sized fuse goes, you should be able to determine the circuit load using a multi-meter, allowing just a bit extra than what the circuit draws.

Here is a chart that will tell you the maximum load that a wire of a specified guage can safely carry.

Let's say, for the sake of argument, that your headlights draw 40 amps. According to the chart, you will need a minimum of 10ga wire to carry that many amps.

While you're at the wreckers, check the glove box for the owner's manual ... as Ford usually included fuse location charts which described the circuit, fuse location, and the required fuse amperage.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake light switch? cabrio Electrical 14 05-04-2007 06:08 PM
break light on..now what!? mrobby440 Suspension - Brakes - Steering 9 05-01-2006 12:30 AM
greased f. wheel bearings on 72 camaro, now brake light stays on bullheimer Suspension - Brakes - Steering 3 04-06-2006 09:43 PM
brake light 98 lumina strracer7 Electrical 0 01-23-2004 04:11 PM
Installing a 3rd brake light on a tinted window Jag Daddy Body - Exterior 3 05-30-2003 05:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.