Brake lights blowin fuses - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2005, 05:59 PM
Scotts67's Avatar
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Riverside, CA
Age: 43
Posts: 27
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Brake lights blowin fuses

Blows brake light fuse (20 amp) whenever brake pedal is pressed. Car is a 67 Camaro, basically stock. Turn signals work (front and rear), parking lights work (front and rear), headlights good, good ground at dash and bulbs (I believe since signals work), have correct 1157 bulbs in rear. 12+ volts on one of two terminals at brake light switch. Any ideas would be appreciated. And no, I'm not throwin' in a larger fuse

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:23 PM
BigDawgsEatFirst's Avatar
400SBC4Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tac-Washington
Age: 41
Posts: 389
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Try this out

Anything else on brake light fuse.
1.Bad ground in brake light socket
I had a light doing that
and i had to replace the socket with another one
Then it worked,no more problems.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2005, 07:57 PM
Scotts67's Avatar
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Riverside, CA
Age: 43
Posts: 27
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDawgsEatFirst
Anything else on brake light fuse.
1.Bad ground in brake light socket
I had a light doing that
and i had to replace the socket with another one
Then it worked,no more problems.
Thought maybe not grounded good, so I reground the buckets to the housing, good ground for sure, but still blew a fuse when applying brakes!?! Thanks for the idea though, any other ideas? Getting annoyed with this...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-15-2005, 09:43 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Fuse Blows

Doc here,

Remove the wire from the switch that doesn't have power on it..

Install a good fuse and step on the brakes..does it blow? If so it's between the switch (or in the switch) and the fuse ...troubleshoot that wire..

If it Doesn't blow a fuse..

Remove the Bulbs...

With an ohm meter, set to R x 1 K read Between that wire and ground..It SHOULD be infinite...If it is not, you have a short between the switch and the rear harness, most likely where it goes under the seat through to the trunk area..or snagged on the spare tire..

You may have to hand over hand the harness to find it..

As a last resort, (because you say the T/S are good) you may have to check the brake lamp wires as they enter and exit the column.. but as you say the turn signals do work..so should the brake lights...

Here is the schematic for a 67 Camaro...you may have to print it out to read it sorry..Scanner is dying out...



Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:26 PM
Scotts67's Avatar
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Riverside, CA
Age: 43
Posts: 27
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok Doc, thanks for your help so far... With only hot wire hooked up, new fuse, brakes applied it does not blow a fuse question, on a 2 wire brakelight switch, the orange is hot 12+ volts, other wire is white, in your opinion should this wire be grounded? It is and I'm thinking it shouldn't be (per your and my wiring diagram), want to be sure before I hook them both up hot, but dealing with previous owners hack job (actually professionally installed but I don't have schematics) of a car alarm installed . And as you know this cuts into all light sources. You've been a great help again thus far and hoping you can elaborate a bit on this. Thank you Doc.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2005, 09:22 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
White wire

Doc here,

If you removed the bulbs, the resistance on that line should be infinite to ground...

With the bulbs in, It will read a few ohms to ground (the filament loads) , this is why you need to remove the bulbs to insure the harness really isn't shouted to ground.

If, with the bulbs removed you have infinite readings you should be OK to hook power up to them...In fact, Try that and see if the fuse blows..

If it doesn't, and then does when you put in the bulbs , you have a shorted socket...(install one at a time until the fuse blows..that will be the bad socket..)

You might want to pull the plugs on the alarm box while testing to eliminate that as a possible source of ground also..

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-17-2005, 12:06 PM
sedan delivery's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: davie, florida
Age: 73
Posts: 229
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
blown fuses

if the signals work ok, check the white wire going from the brake switch to the signal harness, this wire could be shorted to ground. eather from rubbing or pinched in the column. the power goes from the brake switch through the turn signal switch then to the brake light bulbs. check the white wire.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-17-2005, 10:19 PM
Scotts67's Avatar
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Riverside, CA
Age: 43
Posts: 27
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sedan delivery
if the signals work ok, check the white wire going from the brake switch to the signal harness, this wire could be shorted to ground. eather from rubbing or pinched in the column. the power goes from the brake switch through the turn signal switch then to the brake light bulbs. check the white wire.
You the man! After fighting this thing forever It was that damn white wire. I hadn't noticed the brake lights/dash lights not working since I've only taken it out in daylight... The previous owner had an alarm installed and teh white wire comming off the brake switch was straight to ground (explains the 18 fuses I went through testing the last few days) I located the original white wire (lost up in dash) and reconnected and WALA, got working brake lights!!! All lights working now so I can "safely" take it out now this weekend. A big hardy "THANK YOU" to you and Doc for all the help, I owe you a cold one of your choice (actually owe you a hellofalot more than that) but it's all I can do for now. God Bless this BB!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2005, 06:30 PM
docvette's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Rebuild an alternator Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lafayette, california
Age: 62
Posts: 7,362
Wiki Edits: 12

Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
The Fix

Doc here,

Thanks For Posting back With the fix! It may Help the next Guy!

Glad To hear you Found the problem!

Good Call there, Sedan Delivery!

Happy Rodding..

Doc
__________________
Aftermarket Solutions
Electronic & Electrical
Innovations
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
brake lights stay on.... jmtw Electrical 6 03-06-2005 08:48 AM
Wheel clunking and brake squeal skizot Suspension - Brakes - Steering 29 10-09-2004 07:17 AM
96 MonteCarlo No brake lights Ronald Bredeweg Electrical 4 11-12-2003 01:05 PM
Hotrodders Knowledge Cluster: Disc Brake Conversions Jon Suspension - Brakes - Steering 0 08-29-2003 04:34 PM
Brake Lights 53chev Electrical 4 12-10-2002 04:49 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.