Brake lines with 37 degree AN fittings - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2008, 12:51 PM
www.1965comet.net

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Brake lines with 37 degree AN fittings

I've read several posts on makeing 45 degree flares for brake lines are using the 37 degree fittings instead.

I have a Ridgid 345 45 degree flaring tool and was not sucessful in creating the double flair. The line just slips out. I talked to Ridgid and they say that tool is good for only soft metal in the 3/16 size tubing. I've read about other being sucessful and I might just not have the experieince or know how.

Brake are important so I want to be sucessful in making my unions...

So I'm looking to do everything with the 37 degree flare with AN fittings. Is all I have to do is replace the fittings on my brakes and MC with the cooresponding fittings?

What other major points I need to consider? I plan on using regular steel lines...

thanks for any input...

George

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-10-2008, 01:17 PM

Last wiki edit: Mopar tapered axle rear brake conversion
Last journal entry: What I'm doing now...
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 49

37 degree flares are only good for stainless steel lines. Standard soft steel lines will leak with a single flare and you will be just asking for trouble.

If you are having trouble making double flares (I do too) once you have your lines cut to length just run them down to a local brake shop and let them do the flares. At least that way you'll know they've been done right and are safe.
Old 07-10-2008, 01:26 PM
www.1965comet.net

Last photo: