Brake Switch Wiring - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2012, 10:40 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 83
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Brake Switch Wiring

Ok, I've built a kit car that has a steering column with no turn signal switch built in so the turn signals are on separate toggle switches. How do I wire in the brake light switch so the brake lights work corretly? Thanks!
Smokey

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2012, 11:01 AM
S10 Racer's Avatar
http://www.warsprints.com
 

Last journal entry: W.A.R. (Wingless Auto Racing) Sprint Car Racing
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: At The Dirt Tracks
Age: 55
Posts: 1,895
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 65 Times in 58 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokey626
Ok, I've built a kit car that has a steering column with no turn signal switch built in so the turn signals are on separate toggle switches. How do I wire in the brake light switch so the brake lights work corretly? Thanks!
Smokey
You will probably have to install diodes in the turn signal wiring to eliminate "back feeding" from the brake light switch. If the turn signals are on seperate toggle switches, you will need two diodes. These will need to be placed somewhere between the brake light and the toggle switches. Once you do that, terminate the wire from the brake light switch "after" the diodes. If you could attach a diagram of what you have, it would be helpful.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2012, 01:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 83
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I don't have a diagram but think a hot wire to the switch, a wire from the power out to the flasher then from the flasher out to the lights. I see where you're going with the diode, I hadn't thought of that. I bet that's the way I'm gonna have to go.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2012, 02:50 PM
delawarebill's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: delaware
Posts: 1,296
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 19
Thanked 69 Times in 69 Posts
switch..

i ran into the same problem when building my T... used the toggle sw for blinkers.. i also used 2 lites.. amber for sig's and the red for bks.. i got the sig's at a truck stop. ALOT easier to use 2 separate lights.. i think speedway has a signal unit that self cancels.. well someone i know makes them...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2012, 03:56 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 72
Posts: 1,347
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 60 Times in 56 Posts
kiss

The attached drawing shows turn signals in the simplest form.
The scheme uses (2) standard (DPDT) double pole double throw switches, one for each side.
When both switches are in the TS position you have hazard flashers.

vicrod
Attached Files
File Type: pdf turn signal simple schematic.pdf (16.3 KB, 123 views)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2012, 07:44 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 83
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That's a great schematic but I'm not using DPDT switches....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2012, 08:35 PM
John long's Avatar
Slow but willing learner
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chattanooga, Tn
Age: 69
Posts: 2,223
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,064
Thanked 1,426 Times in 1,147 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by smokey626
That's a great schematic but I'm not using DPDT switches....
Why not. They are very inexpensive. If this solves your problem, why not buy 2 $8 switches?

John L
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2012, 12:32 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 83
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I didn't use DPDT switches because I didn't have any on hand. I don't want to change them out just yet because the switches are in the dash and the dash is already put back in. I'd be looking at another 2-3 hours to get the dash out, changes switches etc. I may have to change over if the diodes don't work out but I'm not gonna do that first.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2012, 08:00 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,096
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 140 Times in 131 Posts
You could use your SP switches to fire some DP relays and acomplish the same thing. Are you using a single switch to control the L and R blinkers or two switches?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-09-2012, 10:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 83
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm using two switches, 1 for left one for right obviously. I'm curious now about the relays, how would those wire in?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2012, 07:31 AM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,096
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 140 Times in 131 Posts
They would wire in the place of the DPDT switches, in the above diagram, and your SP existing switches would fire the relay(s)......... Now if it were mine and I was going to use toggles for turn signals........... I'd use a single toggle, On-Off-On, to control four bosh type SPST relays. I'd use the bosh, due to the availability, cost and connecter ease
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2012, 11:31 AM
Hoptup32's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 76
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Here's a simple diagram using two bosch relays and two diodes with an on-off-on toggle switch. It could be easily modified to use two separate on-off toggle switches.

The 1N4001 diode is a 1-amp, which will probably work, or you could substitute a 1N5404 which is a 3-amp, which would be my preference. Both are available at Radio Shack.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BrakeTurn.jpg
Views:	106
Size:	120.9 KB
ID:	65978  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 06-10-2012, 07:22 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,096
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 140 Times in 131 Posts
I haven't tested this, so a bench mock up might be in order....... but I think this is the way I would do it. If anyone finds a flaw, please post.

One possible issue.....will the relay coils provide enough draw to let the flashers cycle properly, might have to use electronic flashers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	turn signal.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	65981  

Last edited by EOD Guy; 06-10-2012 at 07:46 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2012, 02:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 83
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Very cool, Hoptup and EOD! These are great diagrams and it looks like I'll be changing out to the off-on-off switch set-up so the last switch on the panel can go to something else, prolly the trans cooler fan. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 06-12-2012, 04:14 PM
EOD Guy's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 2,096
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 140 Times in 131 Posts
I'd do a bench mock up before I wired either into the car!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trans brake switch showing small voltage, is switch bad? pdmracing Transmission - Rearend 1 09-26-2011 07:50 PM
1923 t-bucket brake lights and brake switch diagram kpost2 Electrical 7 09-15-2011 11:57 AM
Low Pressure Brake Switch Wiring tc33 Electrical 3 04-27-2010 09:34 AM
brake light switch wiring tjn Electrical 3 05-23-2009 08:01 PM
Brake light switch wiring... 38 special Electrical 10 09-15-2007 06:54 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.