Brake/Tail Light wiring - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2010, 12:02 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Brake/Tail Light wiring

Hey guys I need HELP!
I am just about done with my 47 Ford pickup, I need brake/tail lights and a working speedo so I can pass inspection and register it.

I have an EZ wiring harness and I can't figure out the tail section. The rear turn signals work but no brake or tail lights. I am using an in-line brake light switch. There is a wire labeled "brake light switch power" coiming from the fuse panel. My question is does this wire go to the steering column or to the brake light switch? Then I need to know how to get from the switch to the lights.
A diagram would be great!
This is my first time wiring a vehicle and I am finding it to be a pain in the *****. EZ wiring tech support is impossible to get a hold of.
I need help quick because I have an inspection appointment Tuesday moring.

Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-21-2010, 12:49 PM
life is a ride

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:

See attached wiring diagram for typical GM vehicles which is common to most wiring kits.
The brake light feed wire goes the brake light switch. Then another wire goes to the turn signal/hazard switch (white wire).
The brake light bulbs use the turn signal bulbs if you are using a dual filament bulb such as an 1157.

vicrod
Attached Files
File Type: pdf gm turnsignals.pdf (55.2 KB, 420 views)

Last edited by vicrod; 08-21-2010 at 12:54 PM.
Old 08-21-2010, 05:42 PM
How’s that hopey-changey thing

Last wiki edit: Determining top dead center
Last journal entry: Quicky frame dolly
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 8