Brakes hanging up - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-03-2009, 06:47 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Brakes hanging up

My front disc brakes "hang up" once in a while. This is on my Hi boy. I have a dual master cylinder mounted below floor. I do have a prop. valve and residual valves on front and back. If i crack open the bleeder on caliper it releases pressure and all is fine for a little while. Could I have a faulty front Res. valve? I thought that I saw a little brake fluid at fitting going to res. valve, but wiped off and did not see any more. Not losing any noticable amount of fluid.
Also to add that pedal normally has non power brake feel until the problem occurs, then the pedal is "stiff" with no play at the top. I haven't taken anything apart yet. Wanted to get feedback first.
Thanks
Rick

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-03-2009, 07:03 AM
WFO

Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 1616

Having a front RV will cause fluid to come out of the bleeder.

Limit residual valve to about 2 lbs. This is if the MC is below the level of the calipers.

The MC push rod length may need adjusting. Usually a bit of free play is needed.

The piston/seal may be sticking in the bore of the caliper.
Old 04-03-2009, 09:41 AM
Dave's hot Rod Shop

adjust the free play in the peddle. you need about 1/8 or so. Other wise it will not uncover the return bleed hole in the M/C. If that does not do it, look at the caliper it self. They can stick.

Dave Tallant
Daves Hot Rod shop KC Mo
Old 04-03-2009, 12:52 PM