Brass Freeze Plugs Factory Sbc? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-05-2008, 12:13 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Deep South
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Brass Freeze Plugs Factory Sbc?

Could someone tell me if a 98 chevy 5.7 L31 comes with brass freeze plugs from the facory? trying to determine if an engine has been rebuilt. thanks

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-05-2008, 01:30 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 6,710
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 406 Times in 351 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by morejunk
Could someone tell me if a 98 chevy 5.7 L31 comes with brass freeze plugs from the facory? trying to determine if an engine has been rebuilt. thanks
The factory does not use brass freeze plugs, but a set of brass plugs doesn't mean anything more than the factory plugs have been replaced.

Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-05-2008, 01:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Deep South
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
brass freeze plugs

Ok thanks! It's a 98 with 104K miles and I pulled the engine and all freeze plugs are brass, so they woulda had to pull the engine to replace all the plugs. Just thinking maybe they rebuilt it while they had it out? I haven't pulled the heads and miked the bores yet. to see if it's been bored any.Just curious, I may rebuild the engine or may keep it for a spare. thanks though!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-05-2008, 02:13 PM
Stroke Meister
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: MI, USA
Posts: 704
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
The factory does not use brass freeze plugs
Especially when scrap brass is at $2.50/lb.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-05-2008, 02:28 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Prattsville
Posts: 6,353
Wiki Edits: 31

Thanks: 2
Thanked 53 Times in 49 Posts
generally, brass is only factory in marine only applications so ither, the plugs have been replaced for some reason or the engine was originally in a marine application
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 04:00 AM
CNC BLOCKS NE's Avatar
CNC Blocks Northeast
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NORTHEAST
Age: 54
Posts: 1,429
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
We buy alot of new blocks from GM with brass freeze plugs and even some of the Bowtie blocks come with brass freeze plugs, If they are GM freeze plugs they have no numbers on them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 05:02 AM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,090
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 24
Thanked 258 Times in 242 Posts
Also the GM brass plugs are a bit thinner material than aftermkt plugs. Only see them in post 87 blocks. Usually the HD stuff.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2008, 08:02 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Deep South
Posts: 3
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Brass freeze plugs

Thanks, probably factory plugs then.This is from a wrecked 3/4 ton 4x4. I will pull the heads to mic bores and the pan to see if 4 bolt mains. Maybe I'll get lucky! thanks for all the help everyone.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SBC Factory Horsepower ratings? Gearhead forever Engine 5 09-16-2007 07:08 PM
best factory sbc heads onebad98z Engine 15 04-07-2005 12:17 AM
SBC 5.7 Factory Roller Block with Mechanical Fuel Pump? acr Engine 9 11-20-2004 08:05 PM
Rant: Bosch Plugs Cost me $300.00 Rolm Engine 7 07-22-2004 09:50 PM
How Much HP Will a Factory Block Handle (SBC)??? camaroman7d Engine 8 01-14-2004 07:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.