Buckets for 88 GM Pickup - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2003, 12:41 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Question Buckets for 88 GM Pickup

Hi everyone. This is my first time on the message board. I looked through the old posts and could not find anything about later model GM pickups. I was wondering if anyone has took a bench seat out of their 88-98 GM pickup and replaced them with buckets that might not have been out of the same model truck? If so what did they come out of and what modifications needed to be made to install them? I would like a nice sports bucket and nice looking console. If you guys or gals!! have any ideas for me I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,

Jim

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-09-2003, 02:09 PM
Acoustic Rock ... for real.

Last journal entry: About Fusible Links
Last photo:

Hey, Jim

It's just a matter of floor space and measurements, followed by bolting the buckets to the floor ... often with welded square or rectangular steel rods to level and raise the buckets to the height you want. If it'll fit, you can put it in. Period.

I'm planning on putting two seats out of a late model Lincoln or Caddy in my 54 Chevy pickup, as soon as I spot the right (recent) wreck at my local scrap yard. It has to be a fairly recent wreck -- anything sitting in the scrap yard for a few months will reveal totally trashed seats (usually from weather) -- a recent wreck, and a newer vehicle, and you've got brand new seats for $45 each!!! Those Lincoln seats I've been drooling over, cost more than $1,000 each from a dealer!!!