Hot Rod Forum banner

building a 355

6K views 14 replies 3 participants last post by  abas_abas 
#1 ·
this is my first build and i have done my research thoroughly but i would like to get some feedback on the parts that i will be using for my build...

so to start off im looking at around 350hp - 400tq and a compression no more than 10.5:1

the block is 3970010 (010 front of block) bored 30 over
vortec heads 062 - 64cc 1.94/1.5
comp cams 26915 springs beehive
comp cams 787 retainers
comp 648 locks
comp 7812 rods
comp 1417 1.52 roller tip arms self-aligning
comp cl12-211-2 cam/hydro lifter kit - .050 lift 224/224
maybe speed pro zh345ncp30 aluminum pistons 4.03in 5cc
clevite sh13495 cam bearing
clevite ms909p10 main bearing
clevite cb-663p10 rod bearing

intake performer rpm w/ 750cfm edelbrock

as for the crank and rods ill be using my stock ones... and for the pistons im still not sure... considering 2 of them have broken skirts... im thinking of changing all of them or maybe just those 2

IMO this seems like a good street build but considering its my first i would want to get some feedbacks from builders...

thx for any help

See less See more
#3 ·
That's somewhat similar to my build, although I'm not incredibly familiar with all the details of the parts you selected...

I'm using an Edelbrock 7102 cam (.050 lift 234 int./244 exh.), KB 9902HC 5cc flat top pistons, vortec 062 heads, and a Holley 670 Street Avenger carb...

I used the stock rods and crank, too...

My idle is moderately rough, but I like it. My vacuum reading is kinda low, but I've already tagged it to be addressed in the future. My carb is performing, so I can put it on the back burner...

#4 ·
SeeMy355 said:
That's somewhat similar to my build, although I'm not incredibly familiar with all the details of the parts you selected...

I'm using an Edelbrock 7102 cam (.050 lift 234 int./244 exh.), KB 9902HC 5cc flat top pistons, vortec 062 heads, and a Holley 670 Street Avenger carb...