Building a 383 Stroker - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2009, 08:20 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Building a 383 Stroker

I am very new to this and have just purchased a 1984 Camaro. I have the opportunity to purchase a 383 stroker but the individual that has it does not know anything about it. The engine is on a crate and I would like to know if there is a way for me to check to see what components it has. There are no timing gears or timing cover. Would I be able to see numbers on the crank and cam or what should I look for.
Thanks,
Camaro2
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-25-2009, 07:40 AM
Stroked Z28

Last photo:

Sounds fishy. Internal or external balance rotating assembly? 2 bolt or 4 bolt mains? Roller block or not? Does he have the correct balancer & flywheel/flexpate to go with it? Flat top, dome, or dished pistons?

Regardless, w/out paperwork, I would treat this thing as a core. If the cylinder walls have fresh cross hatching & are not pear-shaped shaped then perhaps it is ok. Keep in mind that cross hatching alone does not indicate "true" cylinder walls - you need to measure them. I would still plan on having the block checked and rebalancing the rotating assembly just to be safe. If you make an offer, plan accordingly... If the cylinders wall are worn, then definitely treat this as a core... Yes; I'm pesimistic, but I've been burned a couple times on used engines.