Building my first 383 and need advise - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2003, 08:55 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Building my first 383 and need advise

Hi guys, I am a 22 year old newbie here and did do a search but i still have questions. I am building my first street rod and to be honest i dont know a hell of alot about matching the parts. I bought most of the parts from a guy that was retiring from racing. I dont want to assemble it only to have it fall on its face because the parts are not matched correctly. The short block i have has a balanced forged assembly, The heads are a set of slightly used dart pro1 aluminum heads 215 cc 205/160 that should produce 10.5 to 1 compression. I have both a preformer rpm intake as well as a victor jr. I have a set of solid roller lifters and full roller rockers (No cam yet) And a holly DP750 with vac sec. What i need help with is choosing which intake to use as well as a cam to suite my needs. Its going in a 84 camaro with a turbo 400 tranny 3500 stall and posi 373 rear. What i want is something with ALOT of torque, something that will really fry the tires yet be able to drive it on the street. The cam really doesnt have to be a solid roller but seeing as i already have the lifters as well as the rockers my thinking was i may as well use them. Can anyone suggest the best intake out of the 2 i have as well as suggest a cam that will work with what i have?? Is 3500 stall to much for the street?? Can anyone give me any tips on any of the above that will help me?? Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-26-2003, 09:33 PM