Burning Coolant? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2012, 07:34 PM

Last journal entry: Current Issues
Wiki Edits: 0

Burning Coolant?

Hello! First post here.

I have a 74 Camaro with a totally rebuilt engine, sbc 350. This is my first project car, so I paid a shop to do it for me.

The problem is, coolant seems to go missing, and there are no pools, leaks, or steam that I can see. Except, the exhaust is cloudy, and acceleration makes it worse. It isn't noticeable when the car starts up, but after a minute or two, it gets worse. "Worse" means there is visibly white-ish smoke being expelled, but nothing you can't see through and it dissipates rather quickly.

Is it possible I need to simply re-torque the heads? Did I blow head gaskets? Maybe an intake gasket? I'm fairly new to this, so assume you know more than I do and feel free to point out why an idea I have is wrong.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-27-2012, 07:49 PM
JS-70

Last photo:

OK so did they check the heads for cracks? Did it overheat? Coolant in oil?Can you see bubbles in the radiater with it all the way full? Pull all the plugs and see if you have a one or two cylinders with water. Pressureize the radiator and see where its going. Could be intake gasket leaking too.
Old 05-27-2012, 07:51 PM
454, what turns your crank?

Last journal entry: Replacing bearings and crank
Last photo: