C 4 Vacume line - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2008, 11:48 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
C 4 Vacume line

Looking for where to plug in the vacume line to my C 4 tranny. There is no tube or any kind of connection near the modulator. There is an open tube on the drivers side. Is that where the vacume line goes? Thank You

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2008, 12:16 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,097
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 340
Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwc12345
Looking for where to plug in the vacume line to my C 4 tranny. There is no tube or any kind of connection near the modulator. There is an open tube on the drivers side. Is that where the vacume line goes? Thank You

Photo post is the end of the vacuum modulator where the rubber hose atttaches.

this modulator needs full vacuum from the intake manifold.

the open tube you mention on the drivers side may be an early design breather tube. No vacuum goes there.



__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2008, 12:44 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ford C 4 vacume location

Is that a picture of the end of the modulator? There is no place to slip a hose on the modulator. The end of the modulator has a small screw. I can't find any hose fittings anywhere near the modulator. Help.......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2008, 12:47 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ford C 4 vacume location

If that picture was backed out a bit I could see where it's located. Thanks,,,,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2008, 01:05 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lakeland FL
Age: 65
Posts: 4,110
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
look (just barely) above the tranny cross member support on the passenger side...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2008, 01:07 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,097
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 340
Thanked 102 Times in 98 Posts
this photo is a C4 modulator.

if you have a c4 trans , it is located on the passenger side of the main trans case at the rear - facing to the rear.

The mod either threads in or has a bracket with a bolt to hold the mod into the case




__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2008, 01:21 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ford C 4 vacume location

Here's 2 pics of the modulator. Does anyone know where the vacume tube is?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-22-2008, 01:23 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ford C 4 vacume location

Ok, I'm getting it. There was some grease and dirt around the hole, and a screw on the end of the nipple. I've never seen a vacume inlet with a screw in it. Anybody know what size vacume hose I need? Thanks Alot!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-23-2008, 07:45 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwc12345
Ok, I'm getting it. There was some grease and dirt around the hole, and a screw on the end of the nipple. I've never seen a vacume inlet with a screw in it. Anybody know what size vacume hose I need? Thanks Alot!
The screw is to adjust the part throttle shift points.
The vacuum actually goes through the hole in the middle of the screw.
I think the line is 1/4 metal line (use brake line) running up to the intake manifold, connected with short pieces of rubber line on each end.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-24-2008, 08:18 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ford C 4 Auto Vacume Line

I just want to thank everyone for all the help getting it through my thick head that the vacume line goes in the end of the modulator and yes, there can be a vacume intake with a screw in it. Thank You.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone ever had a line lock fail and degrade braking? sizemoremk Suspension - Brakes - Steering 7 09-22-2006 02:13 PM
Can 2 line brake system be converted to 4? Neophyte Suspension - Brakes - Steering 8 03-07-2005 08:22 PM
vacume advance settings and "Run on problems" chrisgarrison Engine 9 01-29-2005 07:33 PM
where does the vacume lines connect? motormaster General Rodding Tech 2 09-23-2004 09:21 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.