a/c compressor - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2013, 09:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 159
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 52
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
a/c compressor

Can Anyone answer a/c questions ?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2013, 09:53 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,359
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 223
Thanked 278 Times in 258 Posts
Absolutely.
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2013, 09:53 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 13,176
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 795
Thanked 1,091 Times in 902 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by f/bird View Post
Can Anyone answer a/c questions ?
Yes, anyone at all.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2013, 09:57 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,359
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 223
Thanked 278 Times in 258 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by techinspector1 View Post
Yes, anyone at all.
Correctly or otherwise.... LOL
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2013, 10:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 159
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 52
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a a/c compressor from around a (78-80) camaro my nephew gave me for my 76 f/bird . They look very similar in all gen areas. The 76 has an elec. con. just below the mounting of the hoses at the rear of the comp. It's a pointed prong like a pen and the plug is a small wire that leads to the 3 prong fuse /relay that disable the a/c comp. when it blows . The newer comp. does'nt have this conn. and the mounting bracket bolts are also metric and the old one is standard thread. That I thought would just need m bolts. Can this swap be done ? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2013, 11:27 PM
techinspector1's Avatar
Senior Curmudgeon
 
Last wiki edit: DynoSim combinations Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hemet, California, USA
Age: 72
Posts: 13,176
Wiki Edits: 326

Thanks: 795
Thanked 1,091 Times in 902 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by f/bird View Post
Can this swap be done?
Yes, of course. Like I always say, with a 220 amp MIG, an acetylene cutting torch, a Sawzall and a good 4" hand grinder, you can swap anything into anything.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2013, 08:05 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 159
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 52
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Where do you start with that amount of tools out on the bench I'm not sure which end to start on ????
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2013, 08:37 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 60
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by f/bird View Post
I have a a/c compressor from around a (78-80) camaro my nephew gave me for my 76 f/bird . They look very similar in all gen areas. The 76 has an elec. con. just below the mounting of the hoses at the rear of the comp. It's a pointed prong like a pen and the plug is a small wire that leads to the 3 prong fuse /relay that disable the a/c comp. when it blows . The newer comp. does'nt have this conn. and the mounting bracket bolts are also metric and the old one is standard thread. That I thought would just need m bolts. Can this swap be done ? Thanks
That sounds like the superheat switch terminal. If that's the case the compressor will function normally w/o it being connected, although it's there to sense a problem w/the system so that function will be lost.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2013, 12:06 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,762
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 66 Times in 64 Posts
The only two GM compressors I've seen from that time period are the older A6 (about 12 inches long, iron, very heavy) and the R4 (about 6 inches long, bigger in diameter, much lighter). They were used on hundreds of thousands of GM cars over the years. Using all the AC components from one year on a different year car is usually easy, but mixing and matching components between years means you need to understand both systems.

The minimum you really need is the compressor, condenser and evaporator, hoses, an orifice tube and orifice (I think they had switched to that setup by '76), a low pressure switch, a temp probe and low temp switch, and the power connections to the compressor to turn it on. There will also usually be an A/C high speed blower relay, and of course you need an operating fan.

- You switch the A/C on and the current runs from the dash through the A/C relay and low pressure cutoff switch (is the system charged?) and then through the low temp switch (is it so cold that the compressor should not run?), and then over to the A/C compressor.
- If the system has the right charge of R134, there are no leaking hoses, and the compressor is working, it will now cool.
- With R134 its usually best to switch the orifice from a GM white to a Ford blue orifice. You usually charge the amount of R134 at about 75% of the charge of original R12 Freon. You will need hoses with R134 fittings, or you will need to screw on adapters. Its also recommended to add a high pressure switch cutoff also, since R134 pressures can go higher and burst a hose.
- You also need good air flow through the condenser with R134, so use a good OEM fan with a HD fan clutch. A new parallel flow condenser would also improve performance, but you would have to customize a generic parallel condenser installation to make it fit.


Bruce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2013, 12:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 159
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 52
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Side by side they look alike and are r12 freon . The main diff is the elect. con. and the diff of standard /metric threads on comp . itself. That's a big yes about heavy ! The newer one has a little larger diameter in size also but the V seems to be the same size !
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2013, 05:45 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,359
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 223
Thanked 278 Times in 258 Posts
The switch is the low pressure cycle switch.
Remove the circlip, pull out the switch and put it in the 80 camaro compressor.
Not too likely that youll find the answer over at PSP.
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2013, 06:01 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 159
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 52
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
There's no place to put it on the newer one or atleast not anywhere near the same location . ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2013, 06:06 PM
LATECH's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 

Last journal entry: Motor - vator
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northeast Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,359
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 223
Thanked 278 Times in 258 Posts
Then run the low pressure switch that screws on the drier instead.
You may be right , but look the compressor over well.
There may be a plug in the hole that needs removed for the switch to go in.
__________________
Fact is stranger than Fiction
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2013, 06:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 159
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 52
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'll see if I've overlooked it and see if I can find one on the drier , Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2013, 07:12 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 60
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
A6 compressor w/super heat switch:


A6 SH switch only (there are a couple different looking types of SH switches:


Most high/low pressure cutout switches resemble this IIRC:
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eaton Compressor threatens to sue me over "Made in China" compressor post Jon Hotrodders' Lounge 181 09-03-2014 08:11 PM
Anybody own or have info for a 5hp 18.5 80gallon blue Excel Compressor air compressor snapped finger Garage - Tools 0 03-25-2013 12:33 AM
Old Compressor Mac88 Garage - Tools 7 02-01-2013 07:16 PM
compressor alf1096 Engine 1 07-29-2005 09:33 PM
The right compressor for me? daveh Body - Exterior 3 11-05-2004 04:57 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.