CAD program - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2007, 07:17 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
CAD program

OK, this is not rodding related, but I must share. I have been involved with computer aided design work for almost 25 years. I have been using all the versions of Intergraph Microstation (Now Bentley Microstation) since it's inception about 1981. My work consisted mainly of electrical/instrumentation design with a spattering of scaled design work and a little 3D. I have used Microstation to do some house plans for myself and friends. While Microstation is far easier to do house plans than a traditional drawing board, it is a chore none the less. I was recently informed of a house plans program called Chief Architech. This program completely blew me away with how easy it is to draw house plans. Rather than me trying to explaing how easy this program works I would like to direct any interested person to their web site for an animated tour.

Disclaimer: I have no financial or business connections with this company or the program. I am just amayzed at how these CAD programs are evolving and wanted to give anyone who may be interested a look if they have not already heard of it.

Enjoy
Vince

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2007, 07:22 PM
classicautoresto's Avatar
Rust Buster
 

Last journal entry: birthday surprise
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: lebanon, ky
Age: 47
Posts: 23
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I have always used Turbo Cad which has 3D floor plan. It has always been easy to navigate, and it keeps up a materials list for you as you go. Jerry
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2007, 07:31 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by classicautoresto
I have always used Turbo Cad which has 3D floor plan. It has always been easy to navigate, and it keeps up a materials list for you as you go. Jerry
Chief does all that and a ton more, take the tour. It is a bit pricey though, as it is aimed at the high end architech.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2007, 07:37 PM
classicautoresto's Avatar
Rust Buster
 

Last journal entry: birthday surprise
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: lebanon, ky
Age: 47
Posts: 23
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I am more of a "hobby" architect (Stress relief ). Plus the Turbo Cad was free (normally $159.99 ) each year to me at my old job. Jerry
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2007, 08:10 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by classicautoresto
I am more of a "hobby" architect (Stress relief ). Plus the Turbo Cad was free (normally $159.99 ) each year to me at my old job. Jerry
I completely understand that is what I am going to do when I retire in Feb . I just floors me what current CAD programs are capable of though.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2007, 08:21 PM
Brian_B's Avatar
Lost in the 50s!
 

Last journal entry: time to start body work
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mountain Home, AR
Age: 47
Posts: 759
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have not worked with chief architect or ArchiCAD as of yet. I am working with AutoDESK architecture 2008 at the moment. How different or similar are they?

The local architect in town is using archiCAD. It is very powerful and not limited to 15 floors like I was told that chief architect was (don't know if that is true).

I also work with AutoCAD, and Inventor (both 2008). I am wanting to get ahold of solidworks, but don't have access to it through work yet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2007, 08:28 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
I think Chief is directed toward the residential architect as opposed to commercial buildings, so a 15 floor limit seems more than adequate for that .

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2007, 09:07 PM
Brian_B's Avatar
Lost in the 50s!
 

Last journal entry: time to start body work
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Mountain Home, AR
Age: 47
Posts: 759
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That actually answers one huge question........Residential.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-29-2007, 05:04 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 875
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have been trained in Cheif, but I have been using Revit for the past 6 years. Unless they have changed Cheif a lot in the last few years Revit blows it away.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodders' Lounge posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Acceleration Program BillyShope General Rodding Tech 2 10-28-2005 04:55 AM
the LARK program akm Hotrodders' Lounge 7 01-19-2005 02:30 PM
CAD software ckucia General Rodding Tech 21 01-07-2005 09:24 PM
Thomson Education Direct High School Program nightrain_rod Hotrodders' Lounge 4 08-12-2003 10:08 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.