Cadillac 425: Boat anchor? Future Performer? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-09-2006, 06:18 PM
No officer I won’t do it again

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Cadillac 425: Boat anchor? Future Performer?

I have a 77-79 Cadillac 425. I need to make a decision. Pitch it? Or keep it for future use. I have no knowledge or experience with this engine at all. I have snooped around on the net and found a lot of info about the 472 and 500 but very little on the 425. I was hoping someone could give me some info on this engine. Do they make a decent rod motor or are they just a waste of money and time? I am pretty sure they didn’t put out much in stock form but I am wondering if it would be worth saving for a build up. I have enough junk lying around the way it is. If you know anything about it please let me know so I can store it properly or just get rid of it. Thank you …Troy

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-09-2006, 07:58 PM
Analog man in a digital world.

Last journal entry: HEI comparison.
Last photo:

Had a '78 Cadillac demo car years ago with the 425. It didn't like to get hot and would shut off as soon as it did but when it was running we could "bulldoze" anybody out there and after it cooled off a little it would fire right back up. A couple guys got up against us and tried to push us out of bounds, we just shoved them back across the track. The thing had great torque. A lot of the goodies for the 472-500's will also fit the 425, I'd hang on to it.
Old 04-09-2006, 08:51 PM
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel

Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: 1999-2001: Getting it on the road
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 16