Cam button - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 195
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cam button

Getting ready to put the 70 LT-1 engine back in the '62 Corvette. I bought a cloyes true roller set and a Jeg's Alum timing cover. There seems to be a fit problem using a cam buttom (.640 length). My question is, the cam is the stock 70 LT-1 mechanical cam and lifters. Do I really need the cam button? If so, can I shave a little off the back to gain enough clearance to make it fit? how much clearance should it have.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:18 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,856
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 246 Times in 200 Posts
Maybe the cover is designed that it doesn't need the button. The stock engines didn't use a button.


Moving to engine forum.....
__________________
Ontario Rodders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2005, 07:52 PM
T buckets rule
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hills of TN
Age: 63
Posts: 134
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You only need a cam button with a roller cam.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2005, 08:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 195
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPMs
You only need a cam button with a roller cam.
I've read that, but the engine (350 LT-1, 370 HP) came with a cam button, roller type in the stock gm nylon gear. Timing cover (stock GM) had a plate brazed in for the button. With a solid lifter cam does the rotation tend to push the cam forward or back?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2005, 08:47 PM
johnsongrass1's Avatar
Race it, Don't rice it!
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Columbia, Mo
Age: 37
Posts: 4,078
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Fla tappets will center the cam. No need for a button. You might verify the cam gear has bearing behind it. I don't knw if those blocks have the thrust face machined in or not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2005, 06:47 AM
T buckets rule
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hills of TN
Age: 63
Posts: 134
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I used to work in a performance machine shop. What you are describing has been added it is not factory stuff.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2005, 11:36 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 50
Posts: 4,021
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
Flat tappets push the cam towards the rear of the engine.

No need for a cam button.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2005, 12:06 PM
bracketeer's Avatar
489 Lemans
 

Last journal entry: Street Legal
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Courtenay, BC, CehNehDeh
Age: 55
Posts: 2,139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
A cam button is not necessary. BBs have more of a tendancy to move than a SB. If you use a Comp nylon button, it can be shaved to any length. Shave it to zero movement without a timing cover gasket. Then installing the gasket will give it about .010 clearance.
__________________
[URL]http://members.shaw.ca/g.body.building[/URL]
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
350 bored .060 over... XE268 cam, I didn't put a CAM BUTTON IN!!! Dizturbed One Engine 12 08-08-2010 08:50 AM
Please Critique Cam and Combo for 383 Chevy21 Engine 7 04-01-2005 12:50 AM
flattened cam 383vette Engine 7 05-04-2004 10:02 AM
CAM BUTTON OR NOT MIKE T Engine 3 02-08-2003 04:26 PM
cam selection chevyelc81 Engine 9 09-17-2002 06:41 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.