cam button - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2006, 03:20 PM
KNIGHT07731's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 30
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cam button

i installed a new cam last week and forgot to replace the button, how long can i run the engine before it fails

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2006, 03:35 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cali
Posts: 994
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by KNIGHT07731
i installed a new cam last week and forgot to replace the button, how long can i run the engine before it fails
You can run it as long as you want before it fails. It won't run after that....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2006, 04:10 PM
327NUT's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Utah
Age: 68
Posts: 3,300
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 98 Times in 87 Posts
That was a good one.......but if you think its going to fail....WHY in the world would you even start it ???????????? I,m assuming its a hyd. roller, pull the front cover and fix it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2006, 05:54 PM
nitro_baller4692's Avatar
floppers forever
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: illinois
Posts: 791
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yeah!don't wipe out a cam or lifter over laziness.could cause more time and money,from the sounds of it you don't have or want to spend either.
just fix it right so you don't cry about it later.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-15-2006, 07:59 PM
Guy Hiltz's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 1,003
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
cam button

Just to give you on idea,the old Crane solid roller cam in my LS-6 big block ran for 15-16 years,then a lifter exploded and ruined the cam,but a cam button/thrust washer are good to have if you are running roller cams.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2006, 12:15 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Tucson Az
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well the last roller cam and lifters I bought cost about 700 dollars. If that cam walks at all its gonna wipe them both out in no time...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2006, 05:37 AM
KNIGHT07731's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NEW JERSEY
Posts: 30
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cam button

i haven't started the motor as yet, just wondering if anyone ever had an experience where the forgot the button, and ran the motor

onovakind67 (funny guy)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
350 bored .060 over... XE268 cam, I didn't put a CAM BUTTON IN!!! Dizturbed One Engine 12 08-08-2010 09:50 AM
flattened cam 383vette Engine 7 05-04-2004 11:02 AM
The cam mistake is running, well, kinda! Jmark Engine 12 12-31-2003 01:49 AM
another cam ouestion...ie...cam timing VETTE GUY Engine 0 06-28-2003 12:29 PM
CAM BUTTON OR NOT MIKE T Engine 3 02-08-2003 05:26 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.