CAM BUTTON OR NOT - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2003, 03:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: arlington texas
Posts: 53
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post CAM BUTTON OR NOT

DOES MY MILD SMALL BLOCK CHEVY NEED A CAM BUTTON
WITH A COMP CAMS .470 LIFT?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2003, 03:55 PM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,168
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 26
Thanked 279 Times in 259 Posts
Post

flat tappet cams do not need cam buttons, they are for rollers.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2003, 04:16 PM
The Vandal's Avatar
Engine Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Clinton, MS
Age: 42
Posts: 125
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

A flat tappet cam (hydraulic or roller) is not actually flat. It is ground this way to spin the lifter and to push the cam back in the block. Because you can't spin a roller lifter, the roller cam is ground flat and this allows it to walk back and forth in the block causing erratic ignition timing and possibly rubbing against the timing chain cover. That's why you use a button.

The Vandal
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2003, 04:26 PM
BstMech's Avatar
NYOFP4RJ3CHRIS
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TN. In the corporate states of America
Age: 41
Posts: 1,552
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Post

Plus the action of turning the oil pump holds'er in place. My gear drive (don't start Bob ) came with a button, so I used it with my flat tappet cam, what the hell. You don't need it though. Oh yeah the instructions that came with my gear drive said to use the button no matter what, but I would have either way, what the hell.

[ February 08, 2003: Message edited by: BstMech ]</p>
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.