cam LSA and CA smog - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-03-2008, 11:28 PM
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel

Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: Found an LQ9 today
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 16

cam LSA and CA smog

I'm pretty new to the CA smog thing, so I have some questions. The car in question is an OBD2; a 96 Impala SS. I'm building my LT1 into a 383, 11:1, ported aluminum heads and a GMPP 846 cam (222/230 with 112 LSA). Many of the guys in the SS clubs have done this and it will pass the sniffer just fine with careful tuning.

After some careful searching, I really want to install the ICL at 107 to be ideal, but that puts the exhaust lobe too far ahead. To do it "right" would be to use a 108 LSA, but that's too narrow for a street EFI car with power brakes. I thought about having Crane custom grind me that cam on a 110 LSA to split the difference. Desktop Dyno sure likes it

Does CA test idle sniffer, or just the 15 and 25 mph? How will a narrower LSA affect the 15 and 25 mph tests?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-04-2008, 10:29 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

that new of a car you will have to smog forever.i whouldnt custom grind anything i whould get one with a carb e.o. number i know you dont want to hear that but smog here is no fun to fight.
Old 02-04-2008, 12:29 PM

Last photo:

the 846 cam seems to be a slam dunk with the sniffers in its as-ground LSA. I just wonder what the 110 LSA would do to cruise emissions.
Old 02-04-2008, 01:12 PM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by curtis73