Hot Rod Forum banner

cam questions with vortech heads

8K views 6 replies 4 participants last post by  eric32 
#1 ·
hi im mike iim new to the site i have a few questions im building an sten with a 350 so far i have together a 350 from a 1989 camaro 4 bolt main edelbrock performer intake holly 750 and a mild cam i want to run a big cam to get the sound and power like comp cams new thumper cams i want the big mutha thumper or possible the mutha thumper but i dont know what to do about the stock vortech heads what mods will i have to do to run a big cam and i have a 3:73 posi and a 700 r4 i want a sunday cruiser and i want to be able to take her down the track

#2 ·
Don't worry there are alot of guy's here with the info you need.
When they start seeing this you will have several replies. I am not real familiar with the vortec stuff but we are never to old to learn and i am still learning :mwink: . But someone will be here soon. :thumbup: But i am sure you will have to do some work on the heads to run a big cam like you want.
Especially if you want to run the track from time to time.
I know you are going to want it to perform at it's best and not just have a mean sound right.
Cole

#3 ·
Well if your wanting to run a comp big mutha thumpr cam you will need at the very least a 3000 stall convertor with the turbo 700r4 and you will not have a every day type cruiser like your wanting and the 3.73 will work ok in town driving but once you go down the highway with the overdrive your engine will not run worth a crap as it will lug somewhat and not be in a decent rpm range for that cam to run well.

Why do I know this well I had the roller version of this cam but with a 350 turbo and 3.73 gears and it worked good with that but I don't have overdrive and with the big drop in rpms on the highway your cam will be nowhere close to where it will want to make it's power band range.