Hot Rod Forum banner

Campbell Hausfeld Iron Force Air Compressor

13K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  Mighty Mouse S-10 
#1 ·
Hey guys,

I'm new to this site which I think is great and I posted this thread in body exterior because I wasn't sure where to put so I put it here also.

I have been looking for a compressor for some time and wasn't able to lay out the $1,000.00-1,500.00 for a belt driven, 2 stage unit. I am a home hobbyist and paint about two cars a year. The other day I was in Lowes and they had a Campbell Hausfeld 80 gallon, 2 stage commercial unit on the floor. It was the floor model and was missing the gages and the air filter element and housing and a few other things even the instructions. They were selling it for $500.00. I thought because it was a floor unit, I don't know. I went to the cashier and said I wanted it figuring it was still a good deal for a 2 stage unit. I paid for it and went to get my truck and when I pulled up they put a brand new one still in the box in the back of my truck. I could't believe it. It was a $1,100.00 unit. I asked if I was supposed to get a new one and they said yes. I got it home and 4 of my buddies helped lift it off of the truck and into the garage. After unboxing it and taking the skid off I then had a chance to look over everything. It was indeed brand new with nothing missing even had the instructions. I filled it with oil and ran it for an hour the recommended break in period. It ran great. So for $500.00 bucks I think I got a deal and will be able to paint my cars and run a DA with ease.

I didn't have time to research it because they only had 2 left. but I figured for the price for an 80 gallon, 2 stage, commercial compressor I should't have any problems running a DA or painting a complete car. What do you guys think? I know it's not an eaton or IR but for the price I thing I got a steal.