Cams- Flat tappet & Roller-- Are lift and Duration figured the same? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2007, 09:50 AM
Farmer Buck

Wiki Edits: 0

Cams- Flat tappet & Roller-- Are lift and Duration figured the same?

I finally ordered my cam for my flat tappet engine project. As I studied lots of cam specs, I'm a bit confused about "duration and Lift". --Point in question: I settled on a Crane came with 210 duration and .469 lift for my 74 Ford truck engine. (Flat Tappet) --I was just thinking that if this works really well I might want to also change cams in my 91 Ford truck. (Roller Cam) --Would a roller cam with this same duration and lift produce the same effect as the flat tappet? (I realize it would be a different cam, but am wondering about reading the specks, if this duration and lift would bring me the same low end power.)

Thanks!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-31-2007, 10:16 AM

roller cam

the roller cam should not only give the same results but should be slightly better. because of the less friction of the roller cam.
Old 12-31-2007, 10:30 AM
Hammer and a torch

Last photo:

Might just be me but the ramping of the lobe profile of a roller cam will make it act all together different from a flat tappet cam... Even with the same overall spec`s (lift & duration) besides the less friction...

I know one thing for sure that they sound alot different...
Old 12-31-2007, 12:11 PM

I doubt the 91 truck motor has a roller cam in it. The blocks are compatable and everything can be installed from a roller car motor.( spider, dog bones, and pushrods) You may need to tap the 2 spider retaining stud bosses.