can i add a Tee for a 2nd water temp? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2013, 08:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
can i add a Tee for a 2nd water temp?

my 1994 van 350 temp gage dont work..new sending unit did not help...i changed it to a mechanilal gage and the engine runs rough...so i need the oringial for the 2nd wire on it that goes to the ECM..so it'll run right....can i add a Tee and use the orinigal and the machanical..i do have the room....but will i get enough water in the Tee for the reading to be resonabe ?..thanks for looking and your help...richard...tableclocks@comcast.net

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 06:10 AM
DoubleVision's Avatar
Not Considered a Senior Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Heart Of Dixie
Age: 40
Posts: 10,657
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 60 Times in 57 Posts
If you look you'll see there are other ports you can place the mechanical gauge such as on the side of the heads or the intake manifold.
Thus, you should be able to reconnect the factory wire going to the gauge and have your mechanical gauge as well.
On the side of the heads or on the intake you'll see a threaded plug with a square entry, it should be common 3/8 ratchet size.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to DoubleVision For This Useful Post:
tableclocks (03-12-2013)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 10:39 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 7,088
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 539 Times in 455 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tableclocks View Post
my 1994 van 350 temp gage dont work..new sending unit did not help...i changed it to a mechanilal gage and the engine runs rough...so i need the oringial for the 2nd wire on it that goes to the ECM..so it'll run right....can i add a Tee and use the orinigal and the machanical..i do have the room....but will i get enough water in the Tee for the reading to be resonabe ?..thanks for looking and your help...richard...tableclocks@comcast.net
X2 on DoubleVision's comments. The proper place for a gauge sender (mechanical or electrical) is where the plug fitting is located on the exhaust side of the drivers side head. This is located just about between the pair of center exhaust valves which is the hottest place on the drivers side head which runs hotter than the passenger side due to the natural flow imbalance of coolant induced by the direction of pump rotation. If there is a failure of cooling, this location shows the extreme firstest and mostest.

The sensor by the coolant return is a data feed to the computer, it has a different purpose than keeping track of the hottest place on the engine's cooling system. So it is located close to where it gets an average of the return coolant temp. This is used to compute both cold start enrichment (choke) and temperature as it contributes to changes of air density within the intake. This is why you're getting rough running. This sender needs to be installed as the factory has it, not on a tee.

Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to oldbogie For This Useful Post:
tableclocks (03-12-2013)
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-12-2013, 12:33 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,640
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 172 Times in 157 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tableclocks View Post
my 1994 van 350 temp gage dont work..new sending unit did not help...i changed it to a mechanilal gage and the engine runs rough...so i need the oringial for the 2nd wire on it that goes to the ECM..so it'll run right....can i add a Tee and use the orinigal and the machanical..i do have the room....but will i get enough water in the Tee for the reading to be resonabe ?..thanks for looking and your help...richard...tableclocks@comcast.net
To answer the original question, you cannot use a tee fitting. Unlike an oil pressure sender, which can use a tee, temp senders must be inserted into flowing coolant. Either use an existing plugged port in the intake crossover or heads, or get one of the sender fittings that splices into a radiator hose. You can also get a thermostat housing with a bung for a sender.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joe_padavano For This Useful Post:
1Gary (03-12-2013), tableclocks (03-12-2013)

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water temp tylerrosario1234 Engine 3 07-26-2011 01:27 PM
Water Temp Sensor longt Electrical 1 01-03-2008 08:09 PM
water temp on sbc zephyrc Engine 17 02-18-2007 11:34 AM
Water temp varies?? Mudstomper Engine 5 03-12-2003 05:18 PM
Water temp. Jeff Christenson Engine 9 02-20-2003 08:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.