can i install a 2 step without a transbrake - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2012, 04:24 PM
menoaz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: rio rico az
Posts: 53
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
can i install a 2 step without a transbrake

I cant find a thread that can answer this. I want to install a msd 2 or 3 step and use a step for launch at 3000. How would i do this withou a tranny break?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-30-2012, 08:13 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: georgia
Posts: 83
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
transbrakes and/or line locks are wired in parallel with the switched red power wire on a 2 step. You don't have to use them, just connect your push button to the red power wire and you get rpm limiting.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2012, 02:07 AM
menoaz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: rio rico az
Posts: 53
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is there a better 2 step than another for a nontransbrake application? Ive seen something called a soft limter not sure what that is. I take it i release the button and the foot brake at the same time. Is there gonna b a delay?

Last edited by menoaz; 12-01-2012 at 02:23 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2012, 06:41 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: georgia
Posts: 83
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
I have a button on my brake pedal that will turn on the two step. I haven't been able to get it dialed in to the optimum RPM I want, because none of the footbrake events I run in will allow any electronics. I made a large heavy duty brake pedal so I could apply the brakes with or without stepping on the switch. It would be nice to be able to use a 2 step while powerbraking, because you could get your launch RPM exactly where you want it. Once you stage, there's not much time too look at the tach, set your RPM, and then watch the tree.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	misc 007.JPG
Views:	99
Size:	1,020.6 KB
ID:	69520  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2012, 09:02 AM
menoaz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: rio rico az
Posts: 53
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks spark for the pic. I see the light now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good GM Transmission Link for step-by-step instructions d&c repairs it all Transmission - Rearend 0 09-30-2008 03:12 PM
oil change- step by step instructions for women and men Fireball Hotrodders' Lounge 38 08-30-2008 07:39 AM
illustrated step-by-step wing window replacement bullheimer Body - Exterior 0 04-07-2008 11:13 PM
I need a step by step idiots guide. lol... gto nut 00 Transmission - Rearend 6 03-29-2006 10:16 AM
Rebuilding my first Q-jet carb and need step by step. MopaRV Engine 8 12-31-2002 03:41 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.